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Colorado Secretary of State

END LATE TERM ABORTIONS IN COLORADO

SECTION 1. In Colorado Revised Statutes, add part 9 to article 6 of title 18 as follows:
Part9
LATE-TERM ABORTIONS PROHIBITED

18-6-901. Declarations and Definitions
The people of Colorado make the following declarations:

1) There is substantial medical evidence that an unborn child is capable of experiencing pain by
22 weeks gestation. At this time, the unborn child reacts to stimuli that would be recognized
as painful if applied to an adult human, for example, by recoiling and swimming away.

2) Modern medical science has the ability to treat a child who is born alive at 22 weeks
gestation, and these children survive in hospitals across the nation.

3) The State of Colorado and the people of Colorado have a compelling state interest in
protecting the lives of children who feel pain and who can survive outside the womb.

(a) “Abortion” means the act of using or prescribing any instrument, medicine, drug, or any other
substance, device, or means with the intent to terminate the pregnancy of a woman known to be
pregnant or with the intent to kill the unborn child of a woman known to be pregnant. Such use,
prescription, or means is not an abortion if done with the intent to:

1) Save the life or preserve the health of the embryo or fetus;
2) Remove a dead embryo or fetus caused by miscarriage; or
3) Remove an ectopic pregnancy.

(b) “Gestational Age” means the time that has elapsed since the first day of the woman'’s last
menstrual period. FOR PURPOSES OF THIS PART 9, 22 WEEKS GESTATION MEANS FETUSES THAT
ARE AT LEAST 22 WEEKS, 0 DAYS GESTATIONAL AGE.

18-6-902. Abortion after 22 weeks gestation prohibited.

(1) UNLAWFUL CONDUCT.—NOTWITHSTANDING ANY OTHER PROVISION OF LAW, EXCEPT AS
PROVIDED IN SUBPARAGRAPH (i), IT SHALL BE UNLAWFUL FOR ANY PERSON TO PERFORM OR



ATTEMPT TO PERFORM AN ABORTION IF THE PROBABLE GESTATIONAL AGE OF THE FETUS IS AT
LEAST 22 WEEKS.

(2) ASSESSMENT OF GESTATIONAL AGE. — A PHYSICIAN PERFORMING OR ATTEMPTING AN
ABORTION SHALL FIRST MAKE A DETERMINATION OF THE PROBABLE GESTATIONAL AGE OR
REASONABLY RELY UPON SUCH A DETERMINATION MADE BY ANOTHER PHYSICIAN. IN MAKING SUCH A
DETERMINATION, THE PHYSICIAN SHALL MAKE SUCH INQUIRIES OF THE PREGNANT WOMAN AND
PERFORM OR CAUSE TO BE PERFORMED SUCH MEDICAL EXAMINATIONS AND TESTS AS A REASONABLY
PRUDENT PHYSICIAN, KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT THE CASE AND THE MEDICAL CONDITIONS INVOLVED,
WOULD CONSIDER NECESSARY TO MAKE AN ACCURATE DETERMINATION OF THE GESTATIONAL AGE.

(3) EXCEPTION. —IF, IN THE REASONABLE MEDICAL JUDGEMENT OF THE PHYSICIAN, AN ABORTION IS
IMMEDIATELY REQUIRED, rather than an expedited delivery of the fetus, TO SAVE THE LIFE OF A
PREGNANT WOMAN THAT IS THREATENED BY A PHYSICAL DISORDER, PHYSICAL ILLNESS, OR PHYSICAL
INJURY, NOT INCLUDING PSYCHOLOGICAL OR EMOTIONAL CONDITIONS, SUCH AN ABORTION WILL NOT
BE UNLAWFUL.

(4) If an abortion at 22 weeks or after is necessary to save the life of the mother, the physician shall
terminate the pregnancy in the manner which, in reasonable medical judgment, provides the best
opportunity for the fetus to survive, unless, in reasonable medical judgment, termination of the
pregnancy in that manner would pose a greater risk of death to the pregnant woman.

(5) A WOMAN ON WHOM AN ABORTION IS PERFORMED OR A PERSON WHO FILLS A PRESCRIPTION OR
PROVIDES EQUIPMENT USED IN AN ABORTION DOES NOT VIOLATE SUBSECTION (1) OF THIS SECTION
AND CANNOT BE CHARGED WITH AN ASSOCIATED OFFENSE.

(6) A VIOLATION OF THIS SECTION IS A CLASS 3 FELONY.
SECTION 2. in Colorado Revised Statutes, 12-36-117, add {1)(nn) as follows:

12-36-117. Unprofessional conduct. (1) “Unprofessional conduct” as used in this article 36
means:

{nn) A VIOLATION OF SECTION 18-6-902
SECTION 3. In Colorado Revised Statutes, 12-36-118, add (9.5) as follows:
12-36-118. Disciplinary action by board — immunity - rules.

(9.5) IF THE BOARD FINDS A LICENSEE COMMITTED UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT IN VIOLATION OF
SECTION 12-36-117 (1)(nn), THE BOARD SHALL SUSPEND THE LICENSEE’S LICENSE FOR AT LEAST ONE
YEAR.
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