STATE OF COLORADO

Colorado General Assembly

Mike Mauer, Director Legislative Council Staff

Colorado Legislative Council 200 East Colfax Avenue Suite 029 Denver, Colorado 80203-1716 Telephone 303-866-3521 Facsimile 303-866-3855 TDD 303-866-3472



August 9, 2017

Steve Kerbel P.O. Box 631564, Littleton, CO 80163-1564

D.K. Williams P.O. Box 37146 Denver, CO 80237 Sharon L. Eubanks, Deputy Director Office of Legislative Legal Services

Office of Legislative Legal Services 200 East Colfax Avenue Suite 091 Denver, Colorado 80203-1716 Telephone 303-866-2045 Facsimile 303-866-4157 Email: olls.ga@state.co.us

RECEIVED 11:35 A.M. AUG 0 9 2017 S.WARD

Colorado Secretary of State

Re: Proposed Initiative Measure 2017-2018 #43, Disposition of Government Fines, Surcharges, and Forfeitures

Dear Mr. Kerbel and Mr. Williams:

Pursuant to section 1-40-105 (2), C.R.S., we hereby notify you that the above proposed measure does not raise any additional comments from our offices that have not been raised in earlier memoranda or hearings on your proposed measure on this topic. Section 1-40-105 (2), C.R.S., provides in part:

1-40-105. Filing procedure - review and comment - amendments - filing with secretary of state. (2) . . . If the directors have no additional comments concerning the amended petition, they may so notify the proponents in writing, and, in such case, a hearing on the amended petition pursuant to subsection (1) of this section is not required.

Rule 12 of the *Rules for Staff of Legislative Council and Office of Legislative Legal Services: Review and Comment Filings*, adopted by the Legislative Council on September 6, 2000, requires that such determination and notification be made no later than 72 hours after the filing. Your measure was received by our office on August 4, 2017.

This letter serves as the written notice required by section 1-40-105 (2), C.R.S. It is our understanding that pursuant to that section, no review and comment hearing pursuant to section 1-40-105 (1), C.R.S., is required.

Very truly yours,

Sharon L. Eubanks, Deputy Director Office of Legislative Legal Services Mike Mauer, Director Legislative Council