DEPARTMENT OF EARLY CHILDHOOD
Division of Early Learning, Licensing, and Administration
CHILD CARE FACILITY LICENSING RULES AND REGULATIONS

8 CCR 1402-1
[Editor’s Notes follow the text of the rules at the end of this CCR Document.]

2.111 FEES

C. Following is a schedule of original and annual continuation fees for all types of child care facilities
and agencies:

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOMES (1-6 CHILDREN)

JULY 1, 2020, and beyond*

Original Application $65.00

Continuation $65.00

(*One year from licensed anniversary date)

LARGE FAMILY CHILD CARE HOMES (7-12 CHILDREN)

JULY 1, 2020, and beyond*

Original Application $100.00

Continuation $100.00

(*One year from licensed anniversary date)

EXPERIENCED FAMILY CHILD CARE PROVIDER (UP TO 9 CHILDREN)

JULY 1, 2020, and beyond*

Original Application $100.00

Continuation $100.00

(*One year from licensed anniversary date)

SMALL CHILD CARE CENTERS, PRESCHOOLS, SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE, CHILDREN'S
RESIDENT CAMPS AND NEIGHBORHOOD YOUTH ORGANIZATIONS (5-15 CHILDREN)
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JULY 1, 2020, and beyond*

Original Application $200.00

Continuation $200.00

(*One year from licensed anniversary date)

LARGE CHILD CARE CENTERS, PRESCHOOLS, SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE, CHILDREN'S
RESIDENT CAMPS AND NEIGHBORHOOD YOUTH ORGANIZATIONS (16-30 CHILDREN)

Facilities in this category will pay a base fee + a per child in capacity fee not to exceed $1,800

JULY 1, 2020, and beyond*

Original Application | Base $175.00+ $3.00 Per Child

Continuation Base $175.00+ $3.00 Per Child

(*One year from licensed anniversary date)

LARGE CHILD CARE CENTERS, PRESCHOOLS, SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE, CHILDREN'S
RESIDENT CAMPS AND NEIGHBORHOOD YOUTH ORGANIZATIONS (31 OR MORE CHILDREN)

Facilities in this category will pay a base fee + a per child in capacity fee not to exceed $1,800

JULY 1, 2020, and beyond*

o o Base $300.00 + $3.00 Per Child
Original Application

Base $300.00 + $3.00 Per Child
Continuation

(*One year from licensed anniversary date)

Changes Made to All License Types

July 1, 2020, and beyond

Changes to Licensed Capacity $97.00
Changes to Physical Premises $97.00
Duplicate Licenses $40.00

2.500 RULES REGULATING SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE CENTERS
2501 AUTHORITY

These rules and regulations are adopted pursuant to the rulemaking authority provided in section 26.5-1-
105(1), C.R.S., and are intended to be consistent with the requirements of the State Administrative
Procedures Act, sections 24-4-101 through 24-4-204 (the “APA”), C.R.S.; the Anna Jo Garcia Haynes
Early Childhood Act, sections 26.5-1-101 through 26.5-6-103- (the “Early Childhood Act”), C.R.S.; the
Child Care Licensing Act, sections 26.5-5-301 through 26.5-5-329, C.R.S.;; and the Child Care
Development and Block Grant Act of 2014, 42 U.S.C. sec. 9858e.
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The specific rulemaking authorities granted for the School--Age Child Care CentersPregrams include
sections 26-5-5-303(3)-and-26.5-5-314, C.R.S.

2.502 SCOPE AND PURPOSE

The Colorado Department of Early Childhood, Division of Early Learning, Licensing, and Administration is
responsible for the administration of health and safety rules and requirements for licensed child care
facilities. These rules and regulations shall govern the health and safety requirements of licensed school-
age child care centerspregrams in Colorado. All school-age child care centers must comply with the
“General Rules for Child Care Facilities” in rule section 2.100, “Rules Regulating School-Age Child Care
Centers” in rule section 2.500, and the “Rules Regulating Special Activities” in rule section 2.600.

2.503 APPLICABILITY

The provisions of these rules and regulations shall be applicable to licensed school-age child care
centersPregrams caring for five (5) or more children with or without compensation for such care and with
or without stated educational purposes.

2.504 DEFINITIONS

A. A “school-age child care center” (hereafter referred to as the “center”) is a child care center that
provides care for whole or part of the day for the care of five (5) or more children who are
between five (5) and eighteen (18) years of age. Children four (4) years of age, who will turn five
(5) on or before October 15th of the current calendar year may attend the center as part of a
“building-based school-age child care pregramcenter” or “building-based day camp” summer

program-priorto-theirkindergarten-year. The center must operate for more than one Week during
the year. The term includes facilities commonly known as “day camps ” “summer camps,”

Asummepplaygmammreg;am%”“before and after school programs,” and “extended day
programs.” This includes centers operating with or without compensation for such care, and with
or without stated educational purposes.

B. A “building-based school-age child care programcenter” is a child care program that provides
care for five (5) or more children who are between five (5) and eighteen (18) years of age. The
center is located in a building that is regularly used for the care of children.

C. A “day camp” is a school-age child care centerpregram which operates at least four (4) hours a
day primarily during one season of the year, and during school vacation periods for children
between five (5) and eighteen (18) years of age-which-acceptsregistrations-for-finite,hot
necessarily-contiguous-sessions. Programs may operate daily between 6:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m.

Day camp programs may offer no more than two (2) overnight stays each-per camp
sessionsession.

The types of day camps are as follows:

1. A “building based day camp” is a child care pregram-center that provides care for five (5)
or more children who are between five (5) and eighteen (18) years of age. The day camp
is located in a building which, along with the outdoor surroundings, is regularly used by
the program.

2. A “mobile day camp” is a child care pregram-center that provides programming for five (5)
or more children who are at least seven{7)six (6) years of age-erwhe-have-completed
the-firstgrade. Children move from one site to another by means of transportation
provided by the governing body of the program. The program uses no permanent building
on a regular basis. Mobile day camp programs may operate in multiple sites, in a single
county, under one license.
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3. An “outdoor-based day camp” is a child care pregram-center that provides care for five

(5) or more children who are at least sever{7)six (6) years of age-er-have-cempleted-the

firstgrade. The day camp does not use a permanent building on a regular basis and
provides programming in a permanent outdoor or park setting.

“Adverse Weather” means weather that poses a significant health risk that includes wind chill

factor below -15°F (-26°C) and heat index at or above 94°F (32°C), as identified by the by the
National Weather Service (NWS). When temperatures are above 90°F, school-age child care
centers must monitor children for signs of overheating and ensure children have access to shade
and water at all times.

“Air Quality Index Advisory Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups” means an Air Quality Index value of

101 to 150. People with asthma, children, and older adults are the groups most at risk as defined
and explained by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) at
https://www.airnow.gov/sites/default/files/2018-

04/aqi_brochure 02 14 0.pdfhtips/inanrnairnow-govagifagi-basics/ (Feb. 2024), herein
incorporated by reference. No later editions or amendments are incorporated-. These resources
are available andt no cost from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) at
https://www.airnow.gov/aqi/aqi-basics/. These resources are also available for public inspection
and copying at the Colorado Department of Early Childhood, 710 S. Ash St., Denver, CO 80246,
during regular business hours.

“Health care provider” means a Licensed Physician, Physician Assistant, and Nurse Practitioner

registered or licensed by the Colorado Medical Board or the State Board of Nursing.

The “Department” means the Colorado Department of Early Childhood.

“Staff’” and all references to staff or staff positions include paid staff, equally qualified volunteers,

and substitutes.

POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

2.505 STATEMENT OF POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

A.

At the time of enrollment, and upon amendments to policies and procedures, the center must give
the parent(s) or guardian(s)parent{s)/guardian(s) the center’s policies and procedures_;-and
provide the opportunity to ask questions. Written copies must be available either electronically or
in hard copy. The center must obtain a signed document stating that the parent(s) or guardian(s)
parent(s)guardian{s)-have received the policies and procedures, and by signing the policies and
procedures document, the parent(s) or guardian(s) parent{s)/guardian({s)-agree to follow, accept
the conditions of, and give authorization and approval for the activities described in the policies

and procedures. Policies-must-address-or-include-the-each-of the following:

Policies and procedures must be reviewed annually. Any changes must be incorporated and must

be communicated to the parent(s) or guardian(s).

The written policies and procedures must be developed, implemented, and followed, and must

include at a minimum the following information:

1. The center's purpose and its philosophy on child care.
2. The ages of children accepted.
3. Services offered for special needs children in compliance with the Americans with

Disabilities Act (see rule section 2.119 of the General Rules for Child Care Facilities).
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4,

10.

The hours and dates when the center is in operation, specific hours during which special
activities-programs are offered, and holidays when the center is closed.

The policy regarding adverse weather, and Air Quality Index Advisory Unhealthy for
Sensitive Groups as defined in rule 2.504.E.irclement-weather.

The procedure concerning admission and enrelmentreqistration of children_including
whether non-immunized or under immunized children are enrolled in the school-age child
care center.

An itemized fee schedule.

The procedure for identifying where te-ensure-the-location-of-children is-knownare at all
times, how children are accounted for throughout the day, and that children are
supervised at all times by their assigned staff member.

The procedure on positive guidance, behavior expectations, positive instruction,
supporting positive behaviors, as well as the strategies and techniques for supporting

children with challenging behaviors-diseipline-and-censeguences, including how the

center will:

a. Promote responsive and Cultivate-positive child, staff and family relationships
and interactions;

b. Create and maintain a program-wide culture that promotes children’s mental
health, social, and emotional well-beingsecially-and-emeotionally respectiul-early
. | . :
C. Implement teaching strategies supporting positive behavior, pro-social peer

interaction, and overall social and emotional competence in young children;; and;

d. Provide individualized social and emotional intervention supports for children who
need them, including methods for understanding child behavior; and developing,
adopting and implementing a team-based positive behavior support plan with the
intent to reduce challenging behavior and prevent suspensions and expulsions;.
and

How decisions are made and what steps are taken prior to the suspension, expulsion, or

1112,

request to parent(s) or guardian(s) to withdraw a child from care due to concerns about
the child’s behavioral issues. These procedures must be consistent with the center’s
policy on guidance and positive instruction, and include documentation of the steps taken
to understand and respond to challenging behaviors including:

ea. Accessing an early childhood mental health consultant, as defined in section
26.5-3-701, C.R.S., or other specialists as needed.

The procedure, including notification of parent(s) or guardian(s), for handling children's
illnesses, accidents, and injuries, including when children will be excluded from care and

notification of parent(s) or guardian(s)parent(s}-orfguardian{s)

The procedures including notification of parent(s) or guardian(s) fellewed-when a child is
separated from their group and is not under the direct supervision of their assigned staff
member_or for whom the local authorities have been contacted.
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1213,

1314.

1415.

1718.

1810.

1920.

2021.

2122,

2223,

2324,

2425,

2526.

The procedure for transporting children, if applicable, including_children’s safety related to
riding in a vehicle;; seating, supervision, and emergency procedures on the road:;
transportation arrangements; and parental permission for excursions and related
activities.

The written policy and procedure governing field trips, television and video viewing, and
special activities, including the staff’s role for the supervision of children.

Media and internet usage policy outlining screen and media use related to their
curriculum. The media plan must have information on ongoing communication with
children about online safe practices for children over the age of four (4).

The procedure for releasing children from the center only to persons for whom the center
has written authorization_and the procedure for picking-up the child during an emergency.

The procedures followed when a child is picked up from the center after the closing hours
of the center or not picked up at all, and the procedure to ensure that all children are
picked up before the staff leave for the day.

The procedure for caring for children who arrive late to the center and their class/group is
away from the center on a field trip or excursion.

The procedure for storing and administering children's medicinres-medications and
delegation of medication administration in compliance with section 12-255-131, C.R.S., of
the “Nurse and Nurse Aide Practice Act.”

The procedure concerning children's personal belongings and money.

The policy concerning meals and snacks

The policy and procedure regarding visitors.

The procedure for filing a complaint about child care including the name, address, and
telephone number of the Colorado Department of Early Childhood (see rule section 2.125
of the General Rules for Child Care Facilities).

The procedure for reporting child abuse and/or neglect, including the name of the county
department of social/ human services and phone number of where a child abuse report

should be made (see section 2.126 of the General Rules for Child Care Facilities).

The policy for notification when child care service is withdrawn by the program, or when
parent(s) or guardian(s) parents-er-guardians-withdraw their child(ren) from the center.

The procedure, if applicable, for transitioning children between school or community
sponsored activities.

27.

The procedures for emergencies and disaster preparedness such as but not limited to

lost children, tornadoes, fires, shelter in place, lockdown, active shooter on premises,

reunification with families after emergency or disaster, and evacuating children with
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disabilities as specified in rule sections 2.129 through 2.134 of the General Rules for
Child Care Facilities.

2.506 COMMUNICATION, EMERGENCY, AND SECURITY PROCEDURES

For security purposes, a datly-sign-in/sign-out sheet or other mechanism for parent(s) or

quardian(s) parents/guardians-must be maintained daily by the center. The sign-in/sign-out
mechanism must include, for each child in care, the date, the child's name, the time when the

child arrived and left the center, and the parent(s) or guardian(s) parent/guardian's-signature or

other_unique identifier.

1. Staff must verify attendance before and after every group transition from one physical

space to anotherperiodically-throughoutthe-day-. Written or electronic documentation of

attendance verification must be maintained for at least twelve (12) months.

1.2.  With a parent(s) or guardian(s) parent/guardian‘s-approval, a child five (5) years of age or
older may sign in and out instead of the parent(s) or guardian(s)parent/guardian.-

During-the-hours-the-centeris-in-operation,-The center must provide an office and/or monitored

telephone number known to the public and available to parents/guardians in order to provide
immediate access to the center. The telephone must be available to staff at all times the center is

in operation.

Emergency telephone numbers must be posted at each permanent site and taken on all field trips
and during mobile school-age child care pregramscenters. The emergency numbers must
include, at a minimum, 911, or a rescue unit if 911 isn't available; the-clinic-ora hospital_or
emergency medical clinic nearest to the activity location;-ambulance-serviee; fire, police, and
health departments; and Rocky Mountain Poison Control.

The center must be able to provide emergency transportation to a health care facility at all times.

ithvor v : ; ) .

The director of the center or the director's delegated substitute must have a means for
determining who is present at the center at all times.

A written policy regarding visitors to the center must be posted and a record maintained daily by
the center that includes, at a minimum, the date, time, the visitor's name and-address-and the
purpose of the visit. At least one piece of photo identification must be inspected for individuals
who are strangers-unknown to personnel at the center.

The center must
release a Chl|d only to %h&adukés)an |nd|V|duaI for whom ertten authorlzatlon has been given_ by
the parent(s) or guardian(s) -and is maintained in the child's record (see rule section 2.525).

1. In an emergency, the child(ren) may also be released to an adult-individual for whom the
child's parent(s) or quard|an(s) pa%en%er—gaardmhas glven verbal authorlzatlon -the
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KH. The center must have a procedure for dealing with individuals not authorized by the parent(s) or
quardian(s) parent/guardian-of a child who attempts to have the child released to them (see rule
section 2.505(A)(15)).

Ll The center must have a written procedure for closing the center at the end of the day to ensure
that all children are picked up (see rule section 2.505(A)(16)).

PERSONNELSTAFF
2.507 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL PERSONNELSTAFFE

A. All persennel-staff and volunteers at the center must demonstrate knowledgeable decision-
making, judgment, and concern for the proper care and well-being of children.

B. All persennel-staff and volunteers must not consume or be under the influence of any substance
that impairs their ability to care for childrennet-engage-in-actions-thatwould-endangerthe-health;
safety;-orwell-being-of children.

C. lllegal drugs and drug paraphernalia, must never be present on the premises of the center.

D. Staff must not use cannabis and cannabis infused products, vaping or tobacco products of any

kind, or alcohol in the presence of children. To prevent exposure to secondhand smoke, child
care centers must prohibit the use of vaping, tobacco, and cannabis and cannabis infused
products on all center property, both indoors and outdoors. All cannabis and cannabis infused
products, vaping and tobacco products, and alcohol must be kept inaccessible to children at all
times.

E. When caring for children, staff must refrain from the personal use of electronics including, but not
limited to, cell phones and portable electronic devices.

1. When caring for children use of electronic devices is permitted for educational and
administrative purposes.

F. Unless medically contraindicated, staff members must be current for all immunizations required
by their employer.

cG. Each staff member and regular volunteer as defined in rule section 2.510 must complete an
annual self-reported health history. The health history must be maintained by the center in a
secure location.

BH. The duties and responsibilities of each staff position and the lines of authority and responsibility

within the center must be in writing.-Atthe-time-of-empleyment-stafi-members-must-be-informed
o sstos e naslonad s sonnieos

El Prior to working with children, the staff member must read and be instructed on all of the policies
and procedures of the center outlined in rule section 2.505. Staff members must sign a statement
indicating that they have read and understand the center's policies and procedures.

NJ. Prior to working with children, each staff member must read and be trained on the center’'s
policies and procedures for the administration of medications. Staff members must sign a
statement indicating that they have read and have been trained on the center's administration of
medications policies and procedures.

K. Within thirty (30) calendar days of caring for children a signed statement indicating that the
individual has been trained, understands, and has had the opportunity to ask questions regarding
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the “Rules Regulating School-Age Child Care,” the “General Rules for Child Care Facilities,” and
the “Rules Regulating Special Activities,” if applicable.

If volunteers are used by the center, there must be a clearly established policy regarding their

function, orientation, and supervision.

Within thirty (30) calendar days of the last day of employment, staff members must be provided

2.508

with a letter verifying their experience at the center. The letter must contain the center’s address,
phone number, and license number; the employee’s start date and end date; and the total
number of hours worked with children. The letter must be signed by a director, owner, or human
resources agent of the center or governing body.

TRAINING

FG.

Prior to working with children all staff members must complete a Department-approved standard

precautions training-prior-te-working-with-children. This training must be renewed annually and
may count towards ongoing training requirements.

Prior to working with children all staff members must complete a building and physical premises
safety training prior to working with children. The training must include:_ldentification of and
protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of water
and vehicular traffic; and Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate
disposal of biological contaminants.

1. This training is developed and facilitated by the school-age child care center for staff to
identify program specific environmental hazards. Staff must be retrained if there are
changes to the building and physical premises.

Within thirty (30) calendar days of employment all staff member responsible for the collection,
review and maintenance of the child immunizations records must show evidence they have
completed the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) immunization

course-within(30)-calendar-days-of-empleyment. This training must be renewed annually and

may count towards ongoing training requirements.

Within (30) calendar days of employment all staff members and regular volunteers must complete
a Department-approved training about child abuse prevention, which includesirg common
symptoms and signs of child abuse_how to report, where to report, and when to report suspected

or know child abuse or neglect-within{30)-calendar-days-of-empleyment. This training must be

renewed annually and may count towards ongoing training requirements.

Within ninety (90) calendar days of employment Aall staff must have at least one (1) hour of child

development training within-ninety(90)-days-of-employment. This training must include the major

domains (cognitive, social, emotional, physical development and approaches to learning). This
training is required once (1 time) and will count toward ongoing training requirements if taken
after the date of hire.

1 ———For every thirty (30) or fewer children in attendance, there must be at least one (1) staff member

who holds current Department-approved First Aid and Safety certification including CPR
certificate-for all ages of children. Such individuals must be with the children at all times when the
center is in operation. If children are at different locations, there must be a First Aid and CPR
gualified-certified staff member at each location.
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13. Within thirty (30) calendar days of employment all employees caring for children, not
required by rule to be certified in First Aid and CPR, must complete a Department-
approved basic First Aid and CPR module within thirty (30) calendar days of employment
and the module must be renewed every two (2) years.

1. Within thirty (30) calendar days of employment all employees caring for children, not
required by rule to be certified in First Aid and CPR, must complete a Department-

approved basic Introduction to First Aid and CPR module within-thirty-{30)-calendar-days
ofemploymentand-the module must be renewed every two (2) years.

Within ninety (90) calendar days of employment all staff must complete the Department-approved

course in injury prevention for school-age children. This training is required once (1 time) and will
count toward ongoing training requirements.

Within ninety (90) calendar days of employment all staff must complete the Department-approved

course in playground safety for School-Aged Child Care Centers. This training is required once (1
time) and will count toward ongoing training requirements.

1. This requirement does not apply to school-age child care centers that do not reqularly
use a playground.

Within ninety (90) calendar days of employment, all program directors must complete the

Department-approved training: Working with an Early Childhood Mental Health Consultant. This
course is required once (1 time) and will be counted towards ongoing training requirements.

Within ninety (90) calendar days of employment, all program directors must complete the

Department-approved training: Introduction to Child Care Health Consultation. This course is
required once (1 time) and will be counted towards ongoing training requirements.

All staff in building-based school-age child care centers who work with children must complete a
minimum of fifteen (15) clock hours of ongoing professional development each year, beginning

Wlth the start date of the employee lheeenter—mast—have—a—staﬁ—develepment—plan—that—metudes

dee&net—apply—teeay—eamps—At Ieast three (3) clock hours per year must be in the focus of social

emotional development. Fhe-fifteen-(15)clock-hours-oftraining-dees-netincluderecertificationin
First-Ald-and-EPR-

1. Ongoing training and courses must demonstrate a direct connection to one (1) or more of
the following competency areas:

ia
2b. Child observation and assessment;
3c. Family and community partnership;

4d. Social-emotional health and development promotionGuidanece,

Se. Health, safety and nutrition;

&f. Professional practice; anddevelopmentandleadership;

10
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8g. Teaching practices:.

a2. Each one (1) semester hour course with a direct connection to the competency area
listed in rule section 2.567508(G), taken at a regionally accredited college or university
may count as fifteen (15) clock hours of ongoing training.

b3. Training hours completed can only be counted during the year taken and cannot be
carried over.

H4..  To be counted for ongoing training, the training certificate must have documentation that
includes:
1a. The title of the training;
2b. The competency domain;
3c. The date and clock hours of the training;
4d. The name or signature, or other approved method of verifying the identity of

trainer or entity;
eb. Expiration of training if applicable; and
f6. Connection to social emotional focus if applicable.
2.568509 REQUIRED PERSONNEL-AND STAFF QUALIFICATIONS
A. Program Director

1. Each school-age child care center must have an on-site pregram-director. The director is
responsible for operating the center in accordance with licensing rules, planningplanning,
and implementing the school-age child care center pregram as well as the supervision of
staff.

2. The program director -whe-must be at Ieast twenty one (21) years of age.- and must have

a. A Bachelor’s, Master’s, or Doctorate degree from an accredited college or
unlver5|tv with a ma|or area of studv in one (1) of the foIIowmq areas: A—feur—(éla

1. Child Development

2. Psychology

3. Early Childhood Education

4. -Early Childhood Special Education

11
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B.

5. Elementary Education

6. Elementary Special Education

7. Family and Human Development
8. Family Studies

9. Special Education

10. Outdoor Education

11. Recreation
12. Human Services
b. An associate’s degree or sixty (60) semester credit hours from an accredited

college or university Two-years-ofcollege-training-and six{(6)three (3) months
(9%&455 hours) ofe xgerlence sat@faetepy—andAMableiuu—u#neepequwalem

in the care and superwsmn of four (4) or more chlldren over the ages of four (4)

years who are not related to the individual; or

C. Twenty-one (21) months (3,185 hours)Fhree-years{5,460-hours) of-satisfactory
ane-verifiable-full-time-or-equivalentpart-time—paic-orvelunteer, experience in

the care and supervision of four (4) or more children over the ages of four (4)
years who are not related to the individual and one of the following qualifications:

1. Complete-Completion of six (6) semester hours, er-nine{9)-guarter-hours
in-ceurse-work-from a regionally accredited college or university; or

2. Completion of forty (40) clock hours of training in course work applicable
to school-age children within the first nine months in the director position.
The forty (40) clock hours of training cannot include any of the required

trammqs as Ilsted in rule sectlon 2 508 or aaeHhe@epa#men%—appmved

d. A current early childhood professional credential level 1l (2) or higher in version
3.0 as determined by the Department based on its Early Childhood Professional
Credential 3.0 Worksheet, found at https://www.coloradoshinespdis.com/s/about-
the-ecpc?lanqguage=en_US.

Program Leaders

1.

Each program leader must be at least eighteen (18) years of age, demonstrate ability to

work with children, and must have completed at least one (1) meetof -the following
gualifications:

12



CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 8 CCR 1402-1
Division of Early Learning, Licensing, and Administration

3a. Must have at least three (3) months (4606-455 hours) of verified experience in the
care and supervision of four (4) or more children over the ages of four (4) who
are not related to the individual;; ors } j } }

and-verifiable-experience-with-schesl-age-children.

b. A current early childhood professional credential level | (1) or higher in version
3.0 as determined by the Department based on its Early Childhood Professional
Credential 3.0 Worksheet, found at https://www.coloradoshinespdis.com/s/about-
the-ecpc?language=en US.

C. Program Aides

1.

2.

Program aides must be at least sixteen (16) years of age.

Program aides must work directly under the supervision of the program director or
program leaders and must never be left alone with children_unless otherwise specified in
the rule.

D. Substitute Staff

1.

Equally qualified staff must be available to substitute for reqularly assigned staff who are

sick, on vacation, or otherwise unable to be on duty.

2. For short term unscheduled program director vacancies up to ten (10) business days per
calendar year, a gualified program leader can substitute for the program director. The
date and times of substitution must be available for review at all times.

E. Volunteers

1. If volunteers are used by the center, there must be a clearly established policy in regard
to their function, orientation, and supervision.

2. Volunteers who are used to meet staff to child ratio must be equally qualified as a
program director, program leader, or program aide.

3. Equally qualified volunteers must have complete staff records as required in rule section
2.528, and complete the training requirements required in rule section 2.508.

4. Volunteers who are not required to be equally qualified or successfully complete
background checks must be given instruction as to the center's policies and procedures,
and must have a written purpose developed by the center for volunteering.

5. Volunteers_unless equally qualified must work directly under the supervision of the

program director or a program leader and must never be left unsupervised with children.

F. Emergency Staffing Situations

1.

In the case of an emergency situation, including but not limited to illness, death, accident,

law enforcement action, road closure, hazardous weather, emergency bodily function,
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child elopement, or providing emergency attention or care to a child, the child care center
may operate under the following guidelines:

a. The facility may temporarily use a staff member, who has successfully completed
criminal background check requirements, to supervise children for no more than
two (2) hours until a qualified staff member is secured. The dates and times must
be recorded and made available for review at all times.

b. A school-aged child care centers that operates on the property of a school
district, district charter school, or institute charter school, may permit a staff
member, who has successfully completed criminal background check
requirements but is not a qualified caregiver, to supervise children for an amount
of time that is reasonably necessary to address an emergency circumstance.

C. During any emergency situation, the facility must be in compliance with the staff-
to-child ratio as stated in rule section 2.510.

BG. Department-approved Child Care Health Consultant

1.

;.Center staff must consult with a current Department-approved
Colorado Child Care Health Consultant who must have knowledge and experience in
maternal and child health and must meet one (1) of the following qualifications: —Fo-be

a. A licensed registered nurse-with-knowledge-and-experience-in-maternal-and-child

Rooldy;
b. A pediatric nurse practitioner;
C. A family nurse practitioner;_or

d. or-A pediatricianphysician.

All Department-approved Child Care Health Consultants must meet one of the following

qualifications and have documentation available for review:

a. New Cconsultants or Cehild €care Hhealth Sconsultants who do not have
documentation of CCHC 101 completion must complete a Provisional CCHC
Qualification in the Professional Development Information System (PDIS) before
consulting. The Provisional CCHC Qualification is valid for six (6) months.

1. Within six (6) months of completion of the Provisional CCHC
Qualification all Department-approved Child Care Health Consultants
must complete the Full CCHC Qualification in the Professional
Development Information System (PDIS).

b. Department-approved Child Ceare Hhealth Sconsultants who have
documentation of a completed CCHC 101 course, prior to January 1, 2023, must
complete a Full CCHC Qualification in the Professional Development Information

System (PDIS).

C. Child Ceare hHealth eConsultants must maintain their CCHC qualification in the
Professional Development Information System (PDIS) by updating and
completing required training every two (2) years . {2}
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d. All Child Care Health Consultants must show evidence they have completed the
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) immunization
course annually.

3. The_Child Care Health Consultant must consult with the facility and -consultation must be
specific to the needs of the center and include some of the following topics: training;
delegation and supervision of medication administration and special health procedures;
health care; hygiene; disease prevention; equipment safety; interaction between children
and adult caregivers; and normal growth and development.

a. Consultation must occur as often as the Cehild eCare hHealth c¢Consultant
CCcHCwho is delegating medications and/or medical procedures requires.

2b. The date and content of each consultation must be recorded and maintained in
the center’s files.

H.F-  Atleast one (1) staff member with current Department-approved medication administration
training and delegation must be on duty at all times.

El Employment of maintenance staff, including kitchen service, grounds, and housekeeping
employees less than sixteen (16) years of age, must be in compliance with Colorado labor laws.

2.509510 REQUIRED STAFF SUPERVISION
A. A program director _must be present at the center at least sixty percent (60%) of any day the
center is in operation. An individual who meets one of the following requirements must be present

for the remaining forty percent (40%) of the day:

1. A qualified program leader who is at least twenty-one (21) years of age;

2. A qualified program leader wheo-is-atleast-eighteen{18)-years-ofage-andwho has at least
one (1) year (1820 hours) full-time or equivalent part-time verifiable experience working
with children; or

3. Two (2) qualified program leaders who are at least nineteen (19) years of age.

B. If the program director cannot be present sixty percent (60%) of any day the center is in
operation, an individual who meets program director qualifications must substitute for the director.

C. There must be at least one (1) program leader providing supervision with each group of thirty (30)
or fewer children cared for by the center._unless otherwise specified in rule. The program director
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may be the aSS|qned staff for one (1) qroup of chlldrenWhenﬁfeeH@year—etesatem

1. When the center has the capacity to care for multiple groups of children, they must be
separated into developmentally- and age--appropriate activities. Groups are not required
to be separated from each other by permanent or portable dividers or walls.

2. E———Group size for children in care may be exceeded for attendance time, meal and
shack time, special occasions, and activities.

3. The room capacity must not be exceeded.

There must be one (1) staﬁ member for each flfteen (15) children in attendance Wheniew—(@

While four (4) year olds are in attendance, if there are any violations effor: lack of supervision,

operating out of approved staff to child ratios, or operating without sufficient qualified staff, the
program school-age child care center must maintain a 1:12 staff to child ratio with a max group
size of twenty--four (24) children any time four (4) year olds are present.

1. After a one (1) -year period from initial violation if there are no subseguent violations
offor: lack of supervision, operating out of approved staff to child ratios, or operating
without sufficient qualified staff, the school-age child care center can operate with the
staff to child ratios as listed in rule section 2.510.

At any time when nine (9) or more children are in care at the center, there must be at least one
(1) program leader actively supervising children and another responsible person at least sixteen
(16) years of age on the premises. When eight (8) or fewer children are present, there must be at
least one (1) program leader on duty and a second staff member on call who is immediately
available in an emergency.

At all times, school-age child care personnel must be directly supervising the children.

Program aides, without supervision from a program director or program leader, may supervise no

more than four (4) children when taking the children to the restroom, filling up water bottles, or
obtaining water bottles or a coat from inside.

CHHD-CARE-SERVICESADMISSION PROCEDURE

2.511 ADMISSION PROCEDURE

A.

The center can only accept and care for children of the ages and capacity for which it has been
licensed. At no time shall the number of children in attendance exceed the number for which the
center has been licensed.
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B.

Admission procedures must be completed prior to the child’s first day in care at the center and

must include:

1. Completion of the registration information for inclusion in the child’s record, as required in
rule section 2.525527; and

2. Providing the parent(s) or guardian(s) parent{sy/guardian{s) with a copy of the center’s
most recent policies and procedures.

3. If applicable, a Department-approved health care plan authorized by the child’s health

care provider and parent(s) or guardian(s) defining the interventions needed to care for a
child who has an identified health or developmental condition or concern including, but
not limited to seizures, asthma, diabetes, severe allergies, heart or respiratory conditions,
and physical disabilities.

a. Any applicable medications, supplies, and/or medical equipment must be
available to the staff prior to the child’s first (1% day of care.

b. The staff working with a child with a health care plan must be informed, trained,
and delegated responsibility for carrying out the health care plan by the
Department-approved Child Care Health Consultant; supervision of the plan and
interventions must be documented.

Children with Special Needs

1.

The admission of children who have special health care needs, disabilities, or

developmental delays which includes children with social, emotional, and behavioral
needs must be in alignment with the training and ability of staff and in compliance with
the Americans with Disabilities Act. Services offered must show that a reasonable effort
is made to accommodate the child's needs and to integrate the child with other children.
(see rule section 2.119 of the General Rules for Child Care Facilities)

The center must inform its Department-approved Child Care Health Consultant prior to
the first (1) day of care of the enrollment of a child with special health care needs, if
known, so staff receive training, delegation and supervision by the Department-approved
Child Care Health Consultant as indicated by the child’s individualized health care plan.

For a child with special health care needs requiring intervention and/or medication, the

center must obtain written instructions for providing services from the child's parent(s) or
guardian(s), and the health care provider. If an existing individualized health care plan is
provided for the child, it must be reviewed and followed by the center staff when caring
for the child. If the child does not have an existing individualized health care plan, the
individualized health care plan must be obtained by the child’s first (1%") day of care.

For an enrolled child with a newly identified special health care need, the center must

obtain written instructions for providing services from the child's parent(s) or gquardian(s)
and the health care provider. If the child with special health care needs does not have an
existing individualized health care plan, the individualized health care plan and all
associated medication(s) and/or equipment must be provided within thirty (30) calendar
days of the child's identified need.

The individual health care plan must be updated at least every twelve (12) months from

the date of the initial plan, and as changes occur. The plan must include all information
needed to care for the child, must be signed by the health care provider and; parent(s) or
guardian(s), and must include, but not be limited to, the following:
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a. Medication and dosing schedule;

b. Nutrition and feeding instructions;

C. Medical equipment or adaptive devices, including instructions;
d. Medical emergency instructions;

e. Toileting and personal hygiene instructions;

f. Behavioral interventions; ands

a. Medical procedure/ intervention.

2512 —HEALTH CARE

A2.512-:STATEMENTS OF HEALTH STATUS

A. The center has the right to refuse to admit a child if a statement of health history, documentation
of immunization status, or exemption, is not submitted.
iB At the time of enrollment, the parent(s) or guardian(s) parent{s}/guardian{s)}-must provide for each

child entering the center:

al.

A self-reported health history, |nclud|nq any health care plans, which indicates A

any communicable diseases; chronic
illnesses or injuries_the individual has had any: known drug reactions and allergies;
eurrent-medications_currently being taken;; any necessary health procedures or-any
special diets;; -reeded:-and-and the name address and phone number for the child’s
health care provider and dentist.

Schools are required to comply with the immunization requirements as stated in 6 CCR
1009-2. Documentation of school-required immunization status or Certificate of Medical
or Nonmedical Exemption, is required by the Colorado Board of Health. Up-to-date
school-required immunizations must be documented as specified on the Colorado
Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) Certificate of Immunization or on
an “approved alternate” Certificate of Immunization. Colorado law requires proof of

immunization status or exemptron be provrded prior to or on the first (15‘) dav of
admission. Beed

“ ”

Colorado Department of

“approved-aliernate’ Certificate-of- lmmunization-defined-in-

Public Health and Environment regulation at 6 CCR 1009-2:VI(A), (May 15, 2023), no
later editions or amendments are incorporated. These regulations are available from the
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment at no cost at
https://www.coloradosos.gov/CCR/Welcome.do. These regulations are also available for
public inspection and copying at the Colorado Department of Early Childhood, 710 S. Ash

St Denver CO 80246 durlng regular busrness hours —Geleraele—law—req&rres—preef—ef

Ha. Ifthe parent(s) or guardian(s) parent-erlegal-guargian-of a child wants a

nonmedical exemption from the immunization requirement based on a religious
belief whose teachings are opposed to immunizations or a personal belief that is
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opposed to immunizations, the child’s parent(s) or guardian(s) parent-erlegal
guardian-must;

(al)

(62)

Submit the certificate of Nonmedical Exemption with a signature from an
immunizing provider in Colorado, or

Submit the Certificate of Nonmedical Exemption received upon the

complern of CDPHE's Onllne Immun|zat|on Educat|on Moduleéabmpé

me&n&aﬂen—l%el&eaﬂen—Medwe—eAHg—%%e The Certlflcate of

Nonmedical Exemption and Education Module are herein incorporated
by reference, no later editions or amendments are incorporated. The
Certificate and Education Module are available at no cost from the
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment at
https://cdphe.colorado.gov/vaccine-exemptions. The Certificate is
available for public copying and inspection at the Colorado Department
of Early Childhood, 720 S. Ash St., Denver, CO 80246, during normal
business hours.

a3. If the center is located at an elementary school and all the children attend that school, the
immunization records may be maintained at the school office, but must be accessible to
center staff members and licensing specialists during the hours the center is open.

Cc2. Guest Child Care Facilities as defined in section 26.5-5-303(10), C.R.S., are exempt from
obtaining immunization records for students-children when all of the following conditions are met:

al. Students attend for fifteen (15) days or less in a fifteen_(15)-consecutive-day period, no
more than twice in a calendar year; and

b2. At least sixty (60) calendar days separate the two sessions within the calendar year; and

€3. The center notifies parent(s) or quardian(s) parentsfguardians-that non-immunized
children are enrolled on the above short-term basis.

BD. ———Emergency Procedures

21. When accidents, injuries, or illnesses occur, the program director or responsible adult in
charge must notify the child’s parent(s) or guardian(s) parent-erguardian and, if

necessary, seek medical care for the child.

32. A responsible staff member must be directly supervising any ill or injured child.

G—2.513 MEDICATION

2A. Any un-expired routine medication, prescription and non-prescription (over-the-counter),
medications-must be administered only with a current written order of a health care provider with
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prescriptive authority and with written parent(s) or guardian(s) parental-consent. Home remedies,
including homeopathic medications, vitamins, and supplements must not be administered to

children in childcare must-neverbe-givento-a-child.

The written order by the health care provider with prescriptive authority must include:

al. Child’s name and bBirthdate;

b2. Licensed prescribing practitioner name, telephone number, and signature;
e3. Date authorized;

d4. Name of medication and dosage;

eb. Time of day medication is to be given;

f6. Route of medication;

g7. Length of time the medication is to be given;

h8. Reason for medication (unless this information needs to remain confidential);
i9. Side effects or reactions to watch for; and

{10. Special instructions.

Medications must be kept in the original labeled bottle or container. Prescription medications
must contain the original pharmacy label.

Over-the-counter medication must be kept in the originally labeled container and be labeled with
the child’s first and last name.

In the case medication needs to be given on an ongoing, long-term basis, the authorization and
consent forms must be reauthorized on an-at least an annual basis. Any changes in the original
medication authorization require a new written order by the prescribing practitioner and a change
in the prescription label.

Staff designated by the program director to give medications must complete the Department-
approved medication administration training and have current annual delegation or more often as
determined by the Department--approved Child Care Health Consultant. Delegation must be from
the center’s current Department--approved Child Care Health Consultant who must observe and
document the competency of each staff member involved in medication administration. All staff
administering medication must have current Department-approved Cardiopulmonary
Resuscitation (CPR), first aid training-certification prior to administering medication with the
following exceptions:

al. Staff determined by the program director, in consultation with the Department--approved
Child Care Health Consultant, to be responsible for providing routine emergency
medications covered in the approved Medication Administration training: Severe Allergy
or Asthma. -After completing the training, staff must receive delegation from their
Department approved Chl|d Care Health Consultant for those medications only. ferthe

medteatrensent%Staff musp ay then prowde those medlcatlons to chlldren based on
the instructions from the child’s individualized health care plan.
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b2. Staff determined by the program director, in consultation with the Department--approved
Child Care Health Consultant, to be responsible for providing medications not covered in
the approved medication administration training must complete training required by the
Department-approved Child Care Health Consultant. After completing the training, staff
must receive delegation from their Department-approved Child Care Health Consultant.
Staff may alse-be permitted-te-administer medications and/or medical treatments such as
emergency seizure medication, insulin, or oxygen with-individualized-training-and
delegation-from-the Child-Care Health-Consultant-based on instructions from the child’s

individualized health care plan.

€3. Staff may be trained and delegated in the administration of a single rescue medication or
rescue medical intervention by the center’s Department-approved Child Care Health
Consultant. Such training and delegation must qualify the staff member to provide a
rescue medication or treatment for a specific child based on instructions from the child’s
individualized health care plan.

All medications, except those medications specified in the Department’s approved medication
administration training as emergency medications, must be_locked and kept-in an area
inaccessible to children, but available to staff trained in administering medication. If refrigeration
is required, the medication must be stored in either a separate refrigerator or a leak proof
container in a designated area of a food storage refrigerator, separate from food and inaccessible
to children. Controlled medications must be counted and safely secured, and specific policies
regarding their handling require special attention in the centers policies. Access to these
medications must be limited (see sections 27-80-210 and 12-280-134(3), C.R.S.).

81. Emergency medications must be stored in accordance with the Department-approved
Child Care Health Consultant’s recommendation. Emergency medications are not
required to be stored in a locked area. Emergency medications may be stored in an area
easily accessible and identifiable to staff but out of reach of children.

2. When away from the classroom, staff must carry emergency medications-in-a-bag-on

thel—persen.

The center may, with written parent(s) or guardian(s) parental consent and authorization of the
prescribing health care provider, permit children as defined in 26.5-5-314-(4), C.R.S., who have

asthma to carry their own inhalers or children who are at risk of anaphylaxis to carry their own
epinephrine, and use them as directed.

121.  The center must have a specific written policy on the storage and access of inhalers and
epinephrine ferchildren-who-are-permitted-to-carry-carried by school--aged children. The
policy must include a written contract with the parent(s) or guardian(s) and child
acknowledgement assigning levels of responsibility of each individual. This contract
includes orders for the medication from a health care provider, along with confirmation
from the health care provider and the Department-approved Child Care Health
Consultant that the student has been instructed in and is capable of erself-administering

thes&the Qrescrlbed medlcatlons Ih&pdmy—mﬂspwmud&&eemraet—m%h%e
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132.  All staff members and Department-approved Child Care Health Consultants must be
aware of which children have asthma and severe allergies, and which of those may
administer their own inhaler or auto injectors.

Children are not allowed to bring medications to ¢hildecarethe center unless accompanied by a

responsible adult.

If a medication is out-ofdateexpired or left over, the parent(s) or guardian(s) are responsible for

picking up the medication. If the parent(s) or guardian(s) do not respond, the center must dispose
of the medications as+eguired-byin accordance with 6 CCR 1007-2, Part 1, Regulations
Pertaining to Solid Waste Sites and Facilities (March 30, 2024) and 6 CCR 1007-3, Parts 99
(June 30, 2018), 100 (July 15, 2020) and 260-265 (July 15, 2023), 266 (June 30, 2014), 267
(March 30, 2024), and 268 (July 15, 2023), and as required by the Colorado Department of Public
Health and Environment (CDPHE) https://cdphe.colorado.gov/colorado-medication-take-back-
program (2023), herein incorporated by reference. No later editions or amendments are
incorporated. These requlations are available at no cost from CDPHE at
https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR. The recommendations are available at no cost from CDPHE at
https://cdphe.colorado.gov/hm/prep-med-waste-disposal and
https://cdphe.colorado.gov/colorado-medication-take-back-program. These regulations and
recommendations are also available for public inspection and copying at the Colorado
Department of Early Childhood, 710 S. Ash St., Denver, CO 80246, during reqular business
hours.the Colorado Department of Public Health-and Environment.

Topical preparations such as petroleum jelly and bug sprays may be administered to children with

written parental authorization. These preparations may not be applied to open wounds or broken
skin unless there is a written order by the prescribing practitioner.

A written medication log must be kept for each child. This log is part of the child’s records. The
log must contain the following:

al. Child’s name_and birthdate;
b2. Name of the medication, dosage, and route;

€3. Time medicationmedication -is-to-bewas giveradministered;

4. Special instructions;
eb. Name and initials of the individuals giving the medication; and
{6. Notation if the medication was not given and the reason.

D2.514-SUN PROTECTION

1A,

The center must obtain written authorization and instructions from the parent(s) or guardian(s) for
the application of sunscreen or the use of another form of parent(s) or guardian(s) approved sun
protection with a full-spectrum UVA/UVB rating of SPF thirty (30) or greater to their children's
exposed skin prior to outside play year-round. A health care provider’s perm|SS|on is not needed
to use sunscreen at the center

. The center must apply sunscreen, have the parent(s) or guardian(s) parent(s)/guardian({s)-apply

sunscreen, or use another form of parent(s) or guardian(s) parent/guardianr-approved sun
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protection for children prior to children going outside. Sunscreen must be reapplied as directed by
the product label.

When supplied for an individual child, the sunscreen must be labeled with the child’s first and last
name. The child may carry their individual sunscreen when away from the classroom.

If sunscreen is provided by the center, parent(s) or guardian(s) parents must be notified in
advance, in writing, of the type of sunscreen the center will use.

Children may apply sunscreen to themselves under the direct supervision of a staff member.

CHILD CARE SERVICES

2.534515 FOOD AND NUTRITION

A.

The center must show evidence that all meals and snacks provided by the center must-meet
current United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Child and Adult Care Food Program
meal pattern guidance and requirements published by the USDA Food Nutrition Service at
https://www.cacfp.org/meal-pattern-guidance/ (April 2016) and 7 C.F.R. sections 210.10 and
226.20 (July 1, 2022), herein incorporated by reference. No later editions or amendments are
incorporated . These regulations are available at no cost from the USDA Food Nutrition Service at
https://www.ecfr.gov. These regulations are also available for public inspection and copying at the
Colorado Department of Early Childhood, 710 S. Ash St., Denver, CO 80246, during regular
business hours.

1. Children who are at the center for more than four (4) hours, day or evening, must be
offered a meal.

Centers must not provide sugar sweetened beverages to children. These are liguids-beverages
that have been sweetened with various forms of sugars that add calories and include, but are not
limited to: soda, fruitades, fruit drinks, flavored milks, and sports and energy drinks.

If 100% fruit juice, which is not a sugar sweetened beverage, is offered as part of meals and/or
snhacks, it must be limited to no more than fwice-two (2) times per week.

In centers that do not regularly provide a meal, if a child brings a meal from home that does not
appear to meet current USDA Child and Adult Care Food Program meal pattern requirements,
the center must have foods available to offer as a supplement to that meal.

Meal menus must be planned at least one (1) week in advance, dated, and available to parent(s)
or guardian(s)parents. After use, menus must be filed and retained for three (3) months. Records
must be available for periodic review and evaluation.

The size of servings must be suitable for the child’s age and appetite, and sufficient time must be
allowed so that meals are unhurried.
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G. Children must not be given foods that are contrary to the religious or cultural beliefs of their
families or that are known to cause an allergic reaction or a health hazard.

2.515516 GUIDANCE

A. Guidance must be appropriate to the development of the child and used as an opportunity to

teach children social-emotional skills, such as self-requlation, problem-solving, and empathy for

B. Children must not be subjected to physical or emotional harm, er-humiliation, or threats.
C. The director must not use, or permit a staff member or child to use, corporal punishment as

defined in section 22-1-140, C.R.S.

D. Guidance must not be associated with food, rest, or toileting. Children should never be punished
for toileting accidents. Food Children must not be denied feoed-or forced upon a child te-eat as a
disciplinary measure.

E. Separation, when used as guidance, must not exceed five (5) minutes and must be appropriate
for the child’s agedevelopment. The child must be in a safe, lighted, well-ventilated area and be
within sight and hearing of an adult. The child must not be isolated in a locked or closed area.

F. Verbal abuse and derogatory remarks about the child are not permitted.

G. Authority for guidance must not be delegated to other children, and the center must not sanction
one child punishing another child.

H. Physical activity and outdoor time must not be withheld as a disciplinary measure.exereise-must
pethbovesdno o tor ofondones,

l. Exercise must not be used as a disciplinary measure.

J. Any form of restraint is not permitted.

K. Physical redirection may be used to keep a child from imminent danger. The child must be

immediately released once removed from imminent danger.

2517516 TRANSPORTATION
A. Transportation provided by the center
1. The center is responsible for any children it transports.
2. The center must obtain written permission from parent(s) or guardian(s)

parents/guardians-for any transportation of their child during child care hours.

3. The number of staff members who accompany children when being transported in the
vehicle must meet the child care staff ratio found at rule section 2.509. The driver of the
center vehicle is considered a staff member.
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4,

All children must be secured in a child restraint system that is appropriate for the age and
development of that child. The child restraint must conform to all applicable Colorado
child passenqer safety Iaws at section 42- 4 236 and 42- 4 237 C R S. GhHeLFen—mHst—het

Children must be loaded and unloaded out of the path of moving vehicles.

Children must remain seated while the vehicle is in motion. Children must not be
permitted to stand or sit on the floor of a moving vehicle, and their arms, legs, and heads
must remain inside the vehicle at all times.

Written agreement must be made between the center and parent(s) or guardian(s) on
transportation arrangements for school--age children (e.g walking, riding a bicycle, bus,
or traveling in a vehicle) to and from the center. It is the center's responsibility to ensure

the child arrives at the destmatlon at the aqreed upon time. Irahspettattehawangements

Prior to a field trip or other excursion, the center must obtain information on liability
insurance from parent(s) or guardian(s) parentsiguardians-and staff who transport
children in their own cars and verify that all drivers have valid driver’s licenses.

B. Requirements for Vehicles

1.

Any vehicle the center uses for transporting children to and from the center or during
pregram-school-age child care center activities must meet the following requirements:

a. The vehicle must be enclosed and have door lecks:locks;:

b. The seats of the vehicle must be constructed and installed according to the
vehicle manufacturer’s specifications;specifications:;

C. The vehicle must be kept in satisfactory condition to assure the safety of
occupants; and

d. Modifications to vehicles including, but not limited to, the addition of seats and
seat belts must be completed by the manufacturer or an authorized
representative of the manufacturer. Documentation of such modifications must
be available for review; and,-

e. The provider must not transport more children than any vehicle is able to safely
accommodate when child restraint systems and seat belts are properly installed
in the vehicle.

Any child transported by the center must be properly restrained in a child restraint system
that meets the requirements of Colorado child passenger safety laws at sections 42-4-
236 and 42-4-237, C.R.S., that requires:
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a. Children who are under eight (8) years of age and who are being transported,
shall be properly restrained in a child restraint system, according to the vehicle
and child restraint system manufacturer’s instructions.

b. Children who are at least eight (8) years of age but less than fifteen{15)sixteen
(16) years of age who are being transported, shall be properly restrained in a
safety belt or child restraint system according to the vehicle and child restraint
system manufacturer’s instructions.

Q) Children who meet the requirements to be restrained in a safety belt
must be instructed and monitored to keep the seat belt properly fastened
and adjusted.

C. Two (2) or more children must never be restrained in one (1) seat-safety belt or
child restraint system.

In vehicles with a manufacturer’s established capacity of sixteen (16) or more
passengers, seat belts for passengers are not required.

C. Requirements for Drivers of Vehicles

1.

All drivers of vehicles transporting children must operate the vehicle in a safe and
appropriate manner.

All drivers of vehicles owned or leased by the center in which children are transported
must have a current Department-approved First Aid and safety certificate that includes
Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) for all ages of children.

In each vehicle used to transport children, drivers must have access to a First Aid Kkit.

The driver must ensure that all doors are secured at all times when the vehicle is moving.

The driver must make a good faith effort to ensure that each child is properly belted
throughout the trip.

The driver must not eat, smoke, vape, or use a cellular or other mobile device while
driving.

The required staff to child ratio must be maintained at all times.

All drivers must be at least twenty (20) years of age.

Drivers must complete a minimum of (43) feurthree hours of driver training_and a
minimum of one (1) hour of behind the wheel training prior to transporting children. The
driver training curriculum may be developed and administered by the center and must
include at a minimum:; participant transport attendance procedures, including taking
attendance at the destination; managing behavioral issues; loading and unloading
procedures; daily vehicle inspection procedures; proper tire inflation; emergency
equipment and how to use it; accident procedures; passenger illness procedures;
procedures for backing up; and vehicle evacuation._After completing the curriculum,
centers must provide a certificate of completion to their drivers.

a. Documentation of driver trainings must be maintained in the employee file.

2513 —PERSONALHYGIENE
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PROGRAM ACTIVITIES

2517518 ACTIVITY SCHEDBULES

A. The center must provide parent(s) or guardian(s) parentsiguardians-with a list of activities it
offers.

B. Parent(s) or guardian(s) Parents-erguardians-must be given the opportunity to indicate to the

staff of the center if they do not want their child to participate in an activity.

C. Parent(s) or guardian(s) Parents/guardians-must be notified in advance of all activities that will
occur away from the center._If a child participates in activities away from the faeilitycenter, the
center must obtain the parent(s) or guardian(s) written permission for the child to participate in the
activity at a specific location and day. Staff ratios found at rule section 2.509, must be maintained
during any activities away from the center.

D. If the center takes children on routine short excursions, such activities and locations must be
posted at the center.

E. Portable first aid kits must be available to staff at all times, including field trips and short
excursions, and must be checked and restocked on at least a monthly basis.

2.519519 SCREEN TIME AND MEDIA USE
DA. Television viewing, including videos, should not be permitted without the approval of a child's

parent(s) or guardian(s)parents/guardians, who must be advised of the center's policy regarding
television and video viewing.

AB. All media that children are exposed to must be developmentally appropriate and must -not
contain explicit language or topics.

BC. All television, recorded media, computer, tablet, cell phones, video games and other media
devices are prohibited during snack or meal times except during a planned special occasion.

cD. The center must develop a media and internet usage plan outlining screen time and media use
related to their curriculum. The media plan must have information on ongoing communication with
children about safe online practices. The center must obtain a signed document stating that the
parent(s) or guardian(s) parents/guardians-have received this plan, and agree to the activities
described in the plan.

E. All children must be provided with a developmentally appropriate alternative activity once the
child(ren) loses interest in the media activity.

DF. There is no time restriction for children using personal adaptive equipment, er-assistive
technology, or participating in mandatory school activities.

2.520 FIELD TRIPS

ZA. The center must notify the children's parent(s) or guardian(s) parents/guardians-in advance of
any field trip. The staff-child ratios found at rule section 2.569-510 must be maintained at all
times;times.
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All groups of children must be directly supervised by a qualified program director or program
leader at all times;times.

An accurate itinerary of each field trip must remain at the eenter;center.

The staff must have the following information about each child: parent(s) or guardian(s)
parents/guardians-contact information; health care provider's name, address, and phone number;
and the written authorization from parent(s) or quardian(s) parent(s)yguardian{s}-for emergency
medical care.

If children attending the field trip require medications to be administered during the field trip or
have special health needs, a staff member with current medication administration training and
delegation must attend the field trip:trip.

A list of all children and staff on a field trip must be kept at the center;-and.

A copy of the emergency disaster plan must accompany staff offsite.

2.518521 PHYSICAL ACTIVITY

A.

Daily physical gross motor activities, with or without equipment or materials, must be provided
outdoors, or indoors during inclement-adverse weather, and air quality index advisory Unhealthy
for Sensitive Groups for no less than sixty (60) minutes total for pregrams-school-age child care
centers operating over five (5) hours per day. Physical gross motor activities do not have to occur
all at one time.

Daily physical gross motor activities, with or without equipment or materials, must be provided
outdoors or indoors during-inclement adverse weather, and air quality index advisory Unhealthy
for Sensitive Groups for no less than thirty (30) minutes total for school-age child care
centersprograms operating from three (3) to five (5) hours per day. Physical gross motor activities
do not have to occur all at one time.

Daily physical gross motor activities, with or without equipment or materials, must be provided
outdoors or indoors during inclement weather, for no less than fifteen (15) minutes total for
school-age child care centers programs-operating less than three (3) hours per day. Physical
gross motor Aactivities do not have to occur all at one time.

CHILD CARE EQUIPMENT AND MATERIALS

2.522 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

ZA. Buildings must be kept in good repair and maintained in a safe condition.

B. Items labeled “keep out of reach of children” must be inaccessible to children.

7C. Indoor and outdoor equipment, materials, and furnishings must be sturdy, safe and free of
hazards.

8D. Equipment, materials, and furnishings, including durable furniture such as tables and chairs, must

be stored in a manner that is safe for children.

28



CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 8 CCR 1402-1
Division of Early Learning, Licensing, and Administration

E. Carridors, halls, stairs, and porches must be adequately lighted. Operable battery-powered lights
must be provided in locations readily accessible to staff in the event of electric power failure.
Batteries must be checked reqularly.

2.520523 EQUIPMENT AND MATERIALS

BA. The center must have enough play materials and equipment so that at any one (1) time the
average number of children attending the school-age child care center can be individually
involved. Children at the center must have access to age-appropriate materials and equipment
from at least the following categories:

1. Activity-supphiesArts and Crafts;

2. Manipulatives and games;

3. Recreation-equipmentGross motor ;equipment;
4, Library-itemsLiterature; and

5. Science and Math equipment and materials.

B. An appropriate supply of play materials must be readily accessible to children and must be
arranged in an orderly manner so that children can select, remove, and replace the play materials
either independently or with minimal assistance.

AC In a building based school-age child care center, rest time and rest equipment must be provided
for school-age children who require a rest time.

2.524 INDOOR AND OUTDOOR EQUIPMENT, MATERIALS, AND SURFACES

DA The building based school-age child care center must provide access to an outdoor play area.

The outdoor play area may be a city park or public school ground. The play area must meet the
following requirements:

1. The center must provide a total outside play area of at least seventy-five (75) square feet
per child for a minimum of one-third of the licensed capacity of the center or a minimum
of 1500 square feet, whichever is greater;

2. Access to a shaded area, sheltered area, or inside building area must be provided at all
times to guard children against the hazards of excessive sun and heat;

43. Outdoor play areas provided by the center must not have equipment that exceeds six (6)
feet in height for any surface area intended for children’s play unless equipped with a
protective barrier to prevent children from falling; and

4. Resilient Surfacing

a. -All outdoor climbing equipment over eighteen (18) inches provided-by-the-center
must have least six (6) inches resilient surface throughout the use zone.

b. Department-approved resilient surfacing includes loose fill materials such as
wood chips, wood mulch, engineered wood fiber, pea gravel, synthetic pea
gravel, shredded rubber tires, and sand. Solid unitary materials include poured in
place surfacing, approved rubber mats, playground tiles, and Astroturf with built

in resilient pad.
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C. Loose fill resilient surface must be raked regularly to retain its resiliency and to
retain a depth of at least six (6) inches.

d. Any newly installed solid unitary materials used for resilient materials must have
written documentation from the manufacturer stating the material meets current
federal safety standards. The documentation must be available for review at all

times.
Use Zone-
a. Climbing equipment must have a six (6) foot use zone surrounding the

equipment. For slides exceeding six (6) feet in height, the use zone from the
base of the slide must be as long as the slide height.

b. The use zone for swings used by school--age children is determined by
measuring the distance from the top of the swing to the ground. This measured
distance must extend from both the front and the back of the swing.

Moving equipment must be located toward the edge or corner of a play area or be

designed in such a way as to discourage children from running into the path of the
moving equipment.

Metal equipment must be placed in the shade.

Swings must have seats made of a flexible material and all “S” hooks must be secured.

All outdoor play areas used for children’s activities must be checked prior to use and kept

10.

safe and free from hazardous materials or debris by removal of debris, dilapidated
structures, and broken or worn play equipment. The staff must identify hazardous, high-
risk areas; those areas must be made inaccessible to children to reduce the possibility of
injuries and accidents.

For purposes of a playground facility inspection, the Department shall accept as

11.

satisfactory proof of valid certification of the playground facility, certification, or a copy of
certification within the last twelve (12) months, from an individual who is licensed or
certified to perform playground safety inspections through the National Recreation and
Park Association, or other nationally recognized playground facility safety organization.
The Department shall not require a duplicate inspection if there is a satisfactory
inspection report.

a. All playground facilities who hold a certified playground safety inspection must
maintain resilient surfacing in compliance with the certification.

The play area must be designed so that it is easily supervised.

13.

Children must wear helmets when riding scooters, bicycling, skateboarding, or
rollerblading. The helmet must be removed after the activity.

All pieces of playground equipment must be designed to quard against entrapment and

14.

strangulation.

The playground area must be in good repair, of solid and safe construction, free of rough

edges, protruding bolts.
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2.525

15. Playground surfaces must be checked prior to use for the presence of dangerous or other

foreign materials.

16. Motorized riding toys are not permitted.

17. Trampolines and inflatable bouncers are prohibited.

INDOOR LEARNING ENVIRONMENT

BA.

B.

There must be open, indoor play space of Hareem{si-inside-a-building-are-used-forindoorcare

at least thirty (30) square feet of floor space per child, including space for movable furniture and
equipment. For space to be counted in the square footage calculation, the space must be
accessible and used by children.is+reguired. Indoor space is exclusive of kitchen, toilet rooms,
office, staff rooms, hallways and stairways, closets, laundry rooms, and furnace rooms.

Indoor play areas must be uncluttered, safe, and allow for freedom of movement.

C.

Adequate storage space must be provided for indoor and outdoor equipment and supplies.

BUILDING AND FACILITIES

2.526523 TOILET FACILITIES

A.

2.527

Children must be allowed the use of gender-segregated toilet facilities that are consistent with
their gender identity, with toilets separated by partitions to provide privacy _or private toilet
facilities.

There must be a minimum of one (1) toilet per thirty (30) or fewer children for which the center is
licensed. Hand-washing facilities must be available at the ratio of one (1) sink per thirty (30) or
fewer children. After April 1, 2018, all new construction must have a minimum of one (1) toilet and
one (1) hand washing sink per every fifteen (15) or fewer children for which the center is licensed.
Children with specific toileting needs

1. The center must have one (1) or more designated change areas for all children in need of
changing. The change area must:

1a. Meet a child’s individual and developmental needs and be large enough to
accommodate the size of the child;

2b. Have a place inaccessible to children for storing all change supplies and
disinfecting solutions and products; and

3c. Have sufficient supplies; and

d. Be located and arranged to provide privacy in need of diaper changing and
toileting assistance.

GENERAL SAFEY REQUIREMENTS

Firearms as defined in section 18-1-901(3)(h), C.R.S., are prohibited on the premises, both indoor

and outdoor, and in any vehicle in which children are transported.

Major cleaning is prohibited in rooms occupied by children.
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3C. Volatile substances, such as gasoline, kerosene, fuel oil, and-oil-based paints, firearms,
explosives, and other hazardous items, must be stored away from the area used for child care
and be inaccessible to children.

4D. Combustibles, such as cleaning rags, mops, and cleaning compounds, must be stored in well-
ventilated areas separated from flammable materials and stored in areas inaccessible to children.

FE. Combustible materials must not be stored in hallways, stairways, boiler rooms, mechanical
rooms, or electrical equipment rooms.

6F. All heating units, gas or electric, must be installed and maintained with safety devices to prevent
fire, explosions, and other hazards. No open-flame gas or oil stoves, unscreened fireplaces, hot
plates, or unvented heaters can be used for heating purposes. All heating elements, including hot
water pipes, must be insulated or installed in such a way that children cannot come in contact
with them. Nothing flammable or combustible can be stored within three (3) feet of a hot water
heater or furnace.

5G. Closets, attics, basements, cellars, furnace rooms, and exit routes must be kept free from
accumulation of extraneous materials such as furnishings, newspapers, and magazines.

9H. Extension cords cannot be used in place of permanent wiring.

. No other business can operate in the rooms used by the center during the hours of child care.

16J.  Corridors, halls, stairs, and porches must be adequately lighted. Operable battery-powered lights
must be provided in locations readily accessible to staff in the event of electric power failure.

2.524528 FIRE AND OTHER SAFETY REQUIREMENTS
B Fire Safety

Centers must comply with the locally adopted fire code, including but not limited to the following:

A. Every area used for child care must have at least two (2) exits to permit the prompt escape of
occupants in case of fire or other emergency.

iB. Every building and structure must be constructed, arranged, equipped, maintained, and operated
so as to avoid undue danger to the lives and safety of its occupants from fire, smoke, fumes, or
resulting panic during the period of time reasonably necessary for escape from the building or
structure in case of fire or other emergency.

4C. In every building or structure, exits must be arranged and maintained so as to provide free and
unobstructed egress from all parts of the building or structure at all times when it is occupied.
Locks or fastening devices to prevent free escape from the inside of any building must not be
installed. Only panic hardware or single-action hardware is permitted on a door or on a pair of
doors. All door hardware must be within the reach of children.

2D. One (1) exit from each room must be directly to the exterior of the building or to a common
hallway leading to the exterior. The exit path must not go through an intervening room such as a

bathroom another classroom storaqe room, or k|tchenEvepyLbH+ldmgﬂndstmemF&mHsphav&at
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E.

All stairways, interior and exterior, that are used by children must be provided with handrails

within reach of the children.

Regardless of the number of staff and children, exit doors shall be openable from the inside
without the use of a key or any special knowledge or effort. Dead bolts may be installed on the
main exit door, but the lock cannot be used during business hours, and there must a sign

indicating that “thls door must remain unlocked durlnq busmess hours. tf—the—bu#dmg—mwhreh—the

Every exit must be clearly visible, or the route to reach it must be conspicuously indicated. Each
path of escape must be clearly marked.

Fire alarm and fire sprinklers must be provided in accordance with the locally adopted fire code. If
a fire alarm system is installed, it must be used to warn occupants of the existence of fire or to

facnltate the orderly conduct of fire exit dr|IIsEver—bu#dmg—aﬂd—stmemF&mHst—have~an—autematte

RECORDS AND REPORTS

2.524529 ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS AND REPORTS

A.

BE. The center must submit to the Department as soon as possible, but not longer than twenty-four

The following records must be on file at the center:

1. Records of enrollment, daily attendance for each child, and daily record of the time each
child arrives at and departs from the center for the past twelve (12) months must be on
file at the center either in written or electronic form. The previous two (2) years must be
on file at either the center, era central location, or storage.

42. A list of current staff members, substitutes, and staffing patterns_for the past twelve (12)
months must be on file at the center either in written or electronic form. The previous two
(2) years must be on file at either the center, er-a central location, or storage.

3. A record of visitors to the center for the past twelve (12) months must be on file at the
center either in written or electronic form. The previous two (2) years must be on file at
either the center, er-a central location, or storage.

(24) hours, a written report about any child who has been separated from the group outside of the
supervision of their assigned staff member or for whom the local authorities have been contacted.
Such report must indicate:

1. The name, birth date, address, and telephone number of the child;

2. The names of the parent(s) or guardian(s) parentsiguardians-and their address and
telephone number if different from those of the child,;
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3. The date when the child was lestseparated from the group outside of the supervision of
their assigned staff member;

4, The location, time, and circumstances when the child was separated from the group
outside of the supervision of their assigned staff memberlastseen;

5. Actions taken to locate the child including whether local authorities were notified; and
6. The name of the staff person supervising the child.
C. All school-age child care centers must register their operational status information in the

Department’s provider status portal every calendar year between April and October.

1. All school-age child care centers must update their information any time their operational
status changes during a declared state emergency.

2.525530 CHILDREN'S RECORDS

A. An admission record must be completed for each child prior to or at the time of the child's
admission. This record must be updated annuallv and When chanqes occur. The admlssmn
record must include:

fncludes:
1. The child's full name, agebirth date, current address, and date of enrollment;
2. Parent(s) or guardian(s) names; home and e-mail addresses; telephone numbers,

including home, work, and cell numbers; employer name and work address; and Aany
special instructions as to how the parent(s) or guardian(s) parents/guardians-can be

reached durlng the hours the child is at the center Names—hemeand—empleyment
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43.

11.

Names, addresses, -and telephone numbers of persons other than parents/guardians
who are authorized to pick uptake the child from the center;

Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of persons who can assume responsibility
for the child in the event of an emergency if parent(s) or /guardian(s) cannot be reached
immediately;

Name, address, and telephone number of the child's physician, dentist, and hospital of
choice _if applicable;

A cemplete-health history including_any health care plans, which indicates
communicable diseases, and -chronic illnesses or injuries the individual has had,
immunization histeryrecord or exemption status, any known drug reactions or allergies,
medications being taken-reeords, and any necessary health procedures or special diet

needs;-and-health-care plans-as-required-in-rule-section-2.512;

An annual dated-written authorization for emergency medical care signed and dated
submitted annualhy-by the parent(s) or guardian(s). The authorization must be notarized if
required by the local_hospital, clinic-, or emergency- health care facility;

Written authorization obtained in advance of the event from a parent(s) or guardian(s)
parenter-guardian-for the child to participate in field trips or special activitiesand-te

participate-inprogram-activities, listing all exclusions-frem-authorization;

Written authorization from a parent/guardian for the center to transport the child to and
from school, whether by-walking or riding in an approved vehicle-driving:and

A written record Reperts of any serious accident, illness, or injury occurring during care

with a copy provided to the parent(s) or guardian(s);-requiring-medical-attention-.

Written authorization from parent(s) or quardian(s) for media release-; and

12.

A written record of any incident occurring during care when the child has been separated

2.526531

A.

from the group outside of the supervision of their assigned staff member or for whom the
local authorities have been contacted (see rule section 2.205(C)(12)).

STAFF RECORDS

A written or electronic record The-center-office-must be maintained by the center arecerd-for

each staff member, and paid-ervolunteer, which-that includes the following:

1.

2.

Name, address, telephone number, email, and birth date of the individual;

Dates of employment and employment history Fhe-date-that the-staff memberwas
Craplendathe eontion

Name, address, and telephone number of the person(s) to be notified in the event of an
emergency;

Verification-Documentation of-the-staff-member's-certifications; qualifications; and training
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#5. All information from background checks as required in the General rules for Child Care
FaC|I|t|es at rule sectlons 2. 120 and 2. 121 and\#enﬁeaﬂen—that—a—eﬂmmal—reeepd—eheek

6. Within thirty (30) calendar days of employment a signed statement indicating that the

individual has been trained, understands, and has had the opportunity to ask questions
regarding the “Rules Regulating School-Age Child Care,” the “General Rules for Child
Care Facilities,” and the “Rules Regulating Special Activities,” if applicable.

B. Each staff member's personnel file must contain all required information within thirty (30) working
days of the first day of employment.

2.528532 CONFIDENTIALITY AND RETENTION

BA. The confidentiality of all personnel and children's records must be maintained (see rule sections
2.128 through 2.130 of the General Rules for Child Care Facilities).

CB. Persennel-Staff and children's records must be available, upon request, to authorized persennel
representatives of the Department.

BC. If records for organizations having more than one (1) center are kept in a central file, duplicate
identifying and emergency information for both staff-persennel and children must also be kept on
file at the center attended by the child_and where the staff member is assigned.

ED. The records of children and staff must be maintained by the school-age child care center for at
least three (3) years_after the last date of attendance or employment with the school-age child
care center.

E. The health and mental health consultation records must be maintained by the center for at least
three (3) years from the date of consultation.

F. Posting of any personal information or photos of children on social media or advertisement
without written parental consent is prohibited.

SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE CENTERS OPERATED BY PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICTS;; DAY
CAMPS;; MOBILE CAMPS;;—OUTDOOR CAMPS;; AND OVERNIGHT TRIPS

2.533 SCHOOL-AGE CHILD CARE CENTERS OPERATED BY A PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT

A. The administration of medical marijuana must comply with policies listed in sections 2-30-116, 12-
255-120, and 12-255-127, C.R.S.

B. Substitutes

1. In licensed school-age child care centers operated by public school districts, substitutes
may be from the sponsoring school system’s list of approved substitutes. Substitutes who
do not meet qualifications for the position that they are substituting for can be used up to
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DAY CAMPS

ten (10) calendar days per year. The dates and times must be recorded and made
available for review at all times.

2.534 BUILDING BASED DAY CAMPS

All building based dav camp Da%eam&staff must receive a m|n|mum of flfteen (15) hours

Resuscitation{CPR)-training. Pre camp training must mclude aII trammg actlvmes that

staff members participate in as a whole. Training sheuld-must include, but not be limited
to, familiarizing staff with the camp mission, site emergency policy and procedures, how
to supervise and facilitate activities with campers, and health care policies and
procedures. Policies and procedures must be in writing. Staff-will-be-supervised-and
additionaltraining-may-be-provided-if-heeded--Day camps must have a system in place to

provide staff the essential training information for late hires.

. The minimum age of children is seven{7)-six (6) years old.

A. Staff Qualifications
1.
of pre-camp training;
2.535 MOBILE DAY CAMP
A
B. Facility Requirements

1.

The mobile day camp school-age child care centersprogram may use as-a-gathering
place-a public park or playground as a gathering place if the pregram-mobile day camp
primarily includes field trips away from the gathering place. Such school-age child care
centersprograms must have a contingency plan for facilities to use during increment
adverse weather_and Air Quality Index Advisory Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups. The
plan must be available to parent(s) or guardian(s) parents/guardians-on a daily basis.

If using the same building or designated area on a regular basis as a gathering place,
time spent in the building cannot exceed three{3}-two (2) total hours which is divided
evenly between the morning drop off one (1) hour and evening pick up one (1) hour.

If the mobile day camp is using the same building or designated area on a reqular basis

for more than one (1) hour a day not to exceed a total of three and a half (3 ¥2) hours per
day:

a. The building-based capacity must meet the thirty (30) square feet per child
requirement.

b. The building-based capacity must meet the one (1) for every fifteen (15) children
toilet requirements.

C. A variety of developmentally appropriate materials, equipment, and learning
activities from the following categories must be available so that for any one (1)
or all of the children in attendance can be individually involved:

1. Arts and Crafts supplies;
2. Manipulatives and Games;
3. Gross motor equipment;
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4. Literature; and

5. Science and math equipment and materials.

Mobile school-agechild-care-pregramsday camps must have a way to be contacted while
in transit.

The mobile day camp must provide Wwritten schedules must be-provided-to parent(s) or

guardian(s) and the Department. Any changes to location must be provided to parent(s)
or guardian(s) and the Department prior to the change in location.

The programmobile day camp must have an emergency evacuation plan and location.

The programmobile day camp must develop a plan for transporting children, specific to

each mobile day camp, in the case of an emergency. The plan must be approved by the
Department prior to caring for children.

In case of a change in the planned itinerary, the headquarters of the mobile day camp

must be notified immediately. parent(s) or guardian(s) must be instructed to contact the
main headquarters to determine the exact location of their child.

In case of an emergency the mobile day camp must have emergency plans for all field

trip locations.

a. Plans must be available for the Department to review.

b. Plans must be available for parent(s) or guardian(s)

C. All staff must be trained in emergency plans for all field trip locations prior to field
trips.

Staff Qualifications

1.

All staff must receive a minimum of fifteen (15) hours of pre-camp training. Pre-camp

training must include all training activities that staff members participate in. Training
sheuldmust include, but not be limited to, familiarizing staff with the camp mission, site
emergency policy and procedures, how to supervise and facilitate activities with campers,
and health care policies and procedures. Mobile day camps must have a system in place
to provide staff the essential training information for late hires.

There must be one (1) staff member for each ten (10) children in attendance if any six (6)

year olds are present. There must be (1) staff member for each (15) children in
attendance when all children are seven (7) years or older.

The mobile day camp must meet one (1) of the following:

a. There must be at least one (1) program director and one (1) program leader at all
times with each group of children.

b. There must be at least two (2) program leaders at all times with each group of
children.
C. If the mobile day camp is less than fifteen (15) minutes away from the base camp

the camp may have one (1) program leader and one staff aide who is at least
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(18) years of age and has a current department approved CPR and First Aid
certification with each group of children.

D. Equipment and Materials

1. If children are not actively engaged in a scheduled activity, children at the mobile day
camp must have access to age-appropriate materials and equipment from at least the
following cateqgories:

a. Arts and Crafts;
b. Manipulatives and Games; and
C. Literature

2.536  OUTDOOR DAY CAMP

A. The minimum age of children is six (6) years old.
B. Facility Requirements
1. The outdoor day camp school-age child care centers may user-as-a-gatheringplace;-a

public park or playground as a gathering place if the outdoor day camp primarily includes
field trips away from the gathering place. Such school-age child care centers must have a
contingency plan/plans for facilities to use during adverse weather and air quality index
advisory Unhealthy for Sensitive Groups. The plan must be available to parent(s) or
guardian(s) on a daily basis.

2. Written schedules must be provided to parent(s) or guardian(s)) and the dDepartment.
Any changes to location must be provided to parent(s) or guardian(s) and the
dDepartment in advance.

3. The pregramoutdoor day camp must have an emergency evacuation plans and location.

4. The pregramoutdoor day camp must develop a plan for transporting children, in the case
of an emergency. The plan must be approved by the Department prior to caring for
children.

5. In case a change in the planned itinerary, the headquarters of the outdoor day camp

must be notified immediately. Parent(s) or quardian(s) must be instructed to contact the
main headquarters to determine the exact location of their child.

6. In case of an emergency, the outdoor day camp must have emergency plans for all field
trip locations.

a. Plans must be available for the Department to review.
b. Plans must be available for parent(s) or guardian(s).
C. All staff must be trained in emergency plans for all field trip locations prior to field
trips.
C. Staff Qualifications

39



CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS 8 CCR 1402-1
Division of Early Learning, Licensing, and Administration

All staff must receive a minimum of fifteen (15) hours of pre-camp training. Pre-camp

training must include all training activities that staff members participate in. Training
should include, but not be limited to, familiarizing staff with the camp mission, site
emergency policy and procedures, how to supervise and facilitate activities with campers,
and health care policies and procedures. Outdoor day camps must have a system in
place to provide staff the essential training information for late hires.

There must be one (1) staff member for each ten (10) children in attendance if any six (6)

year olds are present. There must be (1) staff member for each (15) children in
attendance when all children are over the age of seven (7).

The outdoor day camp must meet one of the following:

a. There must be at least one (1) program director and one (1) program leader at all
times with each group of children.

b. There must be at least two (2) program leaders at all times with each group of
children.

C. If the outdoor day camp is less than fifteen (15) minutes away from the base
camp the camp may have one (1) program leader and one staff aide who is at
least (18) years of age and has a current department approved CPR and First
Aid certification with each group of children.

D. Equipment and Materials

1.

A variety of developmentally appropriate materials, equipment, and learning activities

from the following categories must be available so that for any one (1) time at least half
(1/2) of the children for which the outdoor day camp is licensed can be individually
involved:

a. Arts and Crafts supplies;

b. Manipulatives and Games;

C. Gross motor equipment;

d. Literature; and

e. Science and math equipment and materials.

2.537 DAY CAMPS PROVIDING OVERNIGHT

A. The minimum age of children is six (6) years old.

B. Day camp school-age childcare centers may offer no more than two (2) overnight stays per camp
session.

C. Programs must supply the dates and locations of all overnight stays to the Department prior to

the camp season.

D. Supervision:
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At no time may a child be left without qualified supervision. Sleeping quarters of the

counselors must be within sight or hearing distance of the sleeping quarters of the
children whom they supervise.

Ratio of one (1) program director or program leader per number of children must be

maintained at all times as follows:

Age of Children Number of Children Number of Staff Members

6 yrs.- 7 years. Old

[e)}
I~

8 through 10 yrs. Old

©
I~

11 through 13 yrs. Old 10

=

14 yrs. and older 12

=

There must be at least one (1) staff member who is Director qualified present for the

overnight stay.

If the overnight stay is away from the day camp location, there must be a day-to-day

itinerary prepared prior to departure. The day camp headquarters must keep a copy of
the itinerary. The itinerary must be followed as closely as possible. Day camp
headquarters must be notified of an itinerary change as soon as possible.

Sources of emergency care and methods of communication with such facilities as

hospitals, police, and forest service must be identified for each campsite on the itinerary.

Transportation must be available at all times in cases of medical emergency according to

the written emergency medical evacuation plan of the day camp.

Overnight location cannot be more than thirty (30) minutes away from emergency

medical services by vehicle.

F. Sleeping facilities

1.

All structures used by children must be kept in good repair at all times.

2.

At least one-half of the floor area in each living unit, excluding tents, must have a

minimum ceiling height of seven (7) feet. No portion of a room having a ceiling height of
less than five (5) feet will be considered as usable floor space.

If fabric structures (tents) are used they must be constructed of a fire- and flame-

retardant material.

Each child must be provided with their own mat, pad, bed, or cot.

The aisles between rows of cots, beds, or bunks must be kept clear for exiting purposes.

There must be at least two (2) feet of clear space separating sides of cots, beds, or
bunks.

If bunk beds are in use, no bunks may contain more than two tiers of beds. There must

be at least twenty-seven (27) inches of clear space separating the tiers of beds and thirty-
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six (36) inches of clear space between the top tier and the ceiling. Electric lights which
are within reach of the top bunk must be protected.

7. Each permanent sleeping unit, building, or tent must have at least thirty (30) square feet
of floor space per person, child, or staff member for single-tier beds and twenty (20)
square feet per person, child, or staff member for two (2) tier bunks.

8. In tent structures which have a platform floor, beds or bunks must be arranged in such a
fashion that no child who might fall from a bed or bunk could fall through the sides of the
tent to the ground below.

9. Campers must sleep in the same room or tent with individuals that are consistent with
their gender identity.
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