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Basis 
 
These rules are promulgated and adopted by the Director of the Division of Registrations 
pursuant to §12-33-107, C.R.S. 
 
Purpose 
 
These rules are adopted and revised to implement the Director’s authority to license 
persons as chiropractors and to set forth the requirements for being so licensed. 
 
Rule 1   Inactive License Status 
A.   Inactive status requires that the licensee not engage in the practice of chiropractic 

within the State of Colorado. The inactive licensee shall pay the renewal fee set 
by the Board. Such inactive status shall be noted on the face of the license issued.  
   

B.   While on inactive status, the licensee need not complete 15 hours of continuing 
education per year. However, to reactivate an inactive license, the licensee shall 
comply with provisions in   §24-34-102(8), C.R.S. (2004) and the following.     
1.   Any chiropractor whose application for reactivation indicates that he/she 

has been in active practice or teaching in another state which has a 
comparable continuing education requirement shall submit proof of 
fulfillment of the continuing education requirements of the other state.     

2.   If the chiropractor has been in active practice or teaching in a state which 
has no comparable continuing education requirement, the chiropractor 
shall submit proof of completion of continuing education to be approved 
by the Colorado Board.     

C.   Any chiropractor whose application for reactivation indicates that he/she has not 
been in active practice or teaching during the period of time in which his/her 
license has been inactive shall document 15 hours of continuing education 
completed within the previous year.     

D.   Any chiropractor applying for reactivation shall submit proof, on a form approved 
by the Board, that a chiropractic license held in any other state or jurisdiction is 
presently in good standing.     

E.   Any chiropractor applying for reactivation may be required, at the discretion of 
the Board, to take the appropriate national examination.     



Rule 2   Reinstatement of an Expired License 
A.   A licensee shall not practice with an expired license beyond the 60 day grace 

period after the expiration of the license provided in   §24-34-102(8)(c), 
C.R.S.     

B.   To be considered for licensure reinstatement the applicant must submit the 
following:     
1.   Completed application for reinstatement with the appropriate fee; and     
2.   Attestation in a form determined by the Board that the applicant has not 

violated the statute, rules and regulations. The Board may require 
additional information to determine applicant’s ability and competence to 
practice with reasonable skill and requisite safety based on the information 
provided by applicant; and     

3.   The Declaration page of the applicant’s current professional liability 
insurance that meets the requirements of Rule 3; and     

4.   Verification of completion of continuing education that meets the 
requirements of Rule 8.     

C.   If the license has been expired for more than six (6) months, the applicant must 
submit a verification from each state in which applicant holds or has ever held a 
chiropractic license that the license is in good standing.     

D.   The Board may deny an applicant for reinstatement upon a finding that the 
applicant has violated any provisions of this statute, rules and regulations. Denial 
would be pursuant to   §12-33-117, et. seq., C.R.S.     

E.   The fee for reinstatement of a chiropractic license shall be as follows:     
1.   The renewal fee established pursuant to   §24-34-102 (8) and 24-34-

105, C.R.S.; and     
2.   The reinstatement fee which shall be determined and collected pursuant to  

 §12-33-114, C.R.S.     
F.   If the license has expired for more than 2 years, the applicant shall satisfactorily 

demonstrate to the Board that the person is competent to practice chiropractic. 
The Board shall require one or more of the following as a demonstration of 
competency to practice.     
1.   A license from another state that is in good standing where the applicant 

demonstrates active practice for a period of time satisfactory to the Board.  
   

2.   Practice for a specified time in Colorado under a restricted license.     
3.   Successful completion of prescribed remedial courses ordered by the 

Board.     
4.   Successful completion of any continuing education requirements 

prescribed by the Board.     
5.   Successful completion of the Special Purposes Chiropractic Examination 

(SPEC) offered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners or Part 



IV of the National Licensing Examination of the National Board of 
Chiropractic Examiners to demonstrate that the applicant has retained the 
qualifications equivalent to this state's requirements for licensure.     

6.   Any other professional standard or measure of continued competency as 
determined by the Board.     

G.   An applicant may petition the Board for reinstatement with a waiver of the 
competency requirements in Paragraph F of this rule, upon demonstration by the 
applicant of personal hardship. In so making such determination, the Board, in its 
discretion, may grant such waiver and reinstatement so long as protection of the 
public is given consideration.     

Rule 3   Professional Liability 
A.   A chiropractor who qualifies for one of the following categories is exempt from 

the professional liability requirements outlined in   §12-33-116.5, C.R.S.:     
1.   A chiropractor who performs chiropractic services exclusively as an 

employee of the United States government.     
2.   A chiropractor who holds an inactive license.     
3.   A chiropractor who provides uncompensated chiropractic care and who 

does not otherwise engage in any compensated patient care whatsoever.     
4.   A chiropractor who holds an active license and does not engage in any 

patient care whatsoever in the state of Colorado.     
5.   A chiropractor who provides services for the Olympic Training Center as 

long as the chiropractor is covered under professional liability required by 
the Olympic Training Center with the minimal amounts required for a 
chiropractor licensed in Colorado.     

B.   The professional liability insurance must cover all acts within the entire legal 
scope of practice defined in   §12-33-102, C.R.S. Coverage is required for 
acupuncture and electrotherapy only if the licensee is authorized to perform such 
acts.     

C.   Professional liability insurance shall remain in effect without a lapse in coverage. 
Licensees shall notify the Board when professional liability insurance policy 
lapses, and immediately cease the practice of chiropractic until such time that 
professional liability insurance is reinstated or obtained.     

Rule 4   Judgments, Settlements and/or Board Actions 
A.   Malpractice judgments as referenced in   §12-33-117 (1)(j), C.R.S. include 

out-of-court settlements. Licensees must report malpractice settlements or 
judgments within sixty (60) days of the date of the final action to the Board. A 
copy of the Complaint, the Answer, and the Judgment or Settlement must be 
submitted at the same time the licensee submits the notice of settlement to the 
Board. The Board may require the licensee to submit other documents in addition 
to the aforementioned.     



B.   The reporting of actions referenced in   §12-33-117(1)(z), C.R.S. requires 
submission in written form within sixty (60) days of the date of the final action to 
the Board. A copy of the final action must be submitted at the same time the 
licensee submits the notice of action to the Board. The Board may require the 
licensee to submit other documents relating to the action.     

C.   The reporting of actions referenced in   §12-33-117(1)(c), C.R.S. requires 
submission in written form within sixty (60) days of the date of the entry of the 
guilty plea or plea of nolo contendere or imposition of a deferred sentence to the 
Board. A copy of the final action must be submitted at the same time the licensee 
submits the notice of action to the Board. The Board may require the licensee to 
submit other documents relating to the action.     

Rule 5   Duplicate License 
The Board shall issue only one license to a licensee. In the event of a lost or damaged 
license the licensee shall submit a signed statement to the Board explaining the loss or 
damage. A duplicate license shall be marked “Duplicate”   on its face. The licensee shall 
return a damaged license before the issuance of a duplicate. The licensee shall notify the 
Board if a lost license is found. In such case, the duplicate license shall be returned to the 
Board.     
Rule 6   Patient Assessment and Electrotherapy/Physical Remedial Measures 
A.   Electrotherapy     

1.   In the practice of chiropractic, the implementation of electrotherapy and 
physical remedial measures as referenced in §12-33-102 (1) and (3), 
C.R.S. may include, but is not limited to:     
a.   Diagnostic, functional or psychometric patient 

assessment/evaluation, designed to facilitate the evaluation, 
administration and modification of patient care and/or case 
management.     

b.   Patient and/or social, educational or consultation considerations 
designed to educate the audience as to the nature, incidence and 
effects of conditions falling within the scope of the Chiropractic 
Practice Act.     

2.   Physical agents of electrotherapy, including physiotherapy, include but are 
not limited to:     
a.   Heat.     
b.   Cold.     
c.   Sound.     
d.   Air.     
e.   Electricity.     
f.   Light.     
g.   Compression.     
h.   Vibration.     



i.   Topical, homeopathic and/or herbal agents (e.g., analgesic, anti-
inflammatory, healing, astringent, antiseptic, etc.) if used in 
conjunction with an agent listed in (a) through (h) above.     

j.   Cold or soft laser for uses approved by the Food and Drug 
Administration.     

 
3.   Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (PMR) includes physical remedial 

measures as referenced in   §12-33-102 (1), C.R.S. PMR includes, but is 
not limited to:     
a.   Tests (physical, functional, mechanical, computerized).     
b.   Exercise therapeutics (instruction, passive, active, resistive, 

cardiovascular).     
c.   Work hardening.     
d.   Gait/locomotion training.     
e.   Manual therapies (massage, mobilization, manipulation).     
f.   Traction.     
g.   Postural drainage.     
h.   Biofeedback (when done to facilitate chiropractic care).     
i.   Functional activities with or without assistive devices.     
j.   Postural re-education.  
k.   Physiotherapy 
l.   Intramuscular stimulation 
m. dry needling    

B.   Patient assessment may include, but is not limited to the following:     
1.   Physical examination.     
2.   Neurologic testing (central nervous system, peripheral nervous system, 

motor, sensory, cranial nerves, long tracts signs, pathological reflexes).     
3.   Orthopedic testing (provocative/ functional testing).     
4.   Chiropractic testing.     
5.   Range of motion examination.     
6.   Strength testing (manual, mechanical, computerized).     
7.   Postural examination.     
8.   Gait/movement analysis.     
9.   Activities of daily living.     
10.   Psychometric questionnaires.     
11.   Nocioception.     
12.   Cardiac, pulmonary, and vascular examination.     
13.   Fitness examination.     
14.   Work site assessment.     
15.   Home assessment.     
16.   Photosensitivity testing.     



17.   Impairment or disability ratings.     
18.   Functional capacity evaluation.     

Rule 7   Scope of Practice 
A.   Practices that are not within the scope of chiropractic practice and invoke the duty 

to refer provision in   §12-33-117 (1)(bb), C.R.S. include, but are not limited to:     
1.   Treatment of the disease cancer. This does not preclude screening and 

diagnostic procedures for the prevention and early detection of cancer or 
the chiropractic treatment of other concomitant conditions that the patient 
may have. In addition, a qualified chiropractor may collaboratively treat 
cancer in conjunction with, but not replacing, drugs, surgery, or 
chemotherapy.     

2.   Obstetrics.     
3.   Surgery.     
4.   Administration of anesthetics, with the exception of topical or over-the-

counter anesthetics.     
5.   Prescription of drugs not referenced in Rule 7 C.     
6.   Hypnosis unless used as a procedure to make the adjustment or 

manipulation more effective and unless the practitioner presents evidence 
to the Board of having obtained education in hypnosis from an accredited 
college or board approved program.     

B.   A chiropractor must have the knowledge, skill, ability, and documented 
competency to perform an act that is within the chiropractic scope of practice. 
Procedures with specific clinical, didactic requirements and qualifications include, 
but are not limited to:     
1.   Paraspinal Surface Electromyography (EMG)     

a.   Ten (10) hours of initial training with demonstrated competency.     
b.   Procedures may be delegated to a qualified technician and must be 

supervised and interpreted by an on-site qualified and licensed 
doctor of chiropractic.     

c.   Procedures must be performed in a manner consistent with 
generally accepted parameters, including any relevant standards of 
the Center for Communicable Diseases and meet safe and 
professional standards.     

2.   Surface Electromyography excluding paraspinal, Nerve Conduction 
Velocity (NCV) and Needle Electromyography (EMG)     
a.   One hundred and twenty (120) hours of initial clinical and didactic 

training with demonstrated competency in electromyography 
(paraspinal surface electromyography excluded).     

b.   Procedures may not be delegated to a technician and must be 
directly performed by a qualified and licensed doctor of 
chiropractic.     



c.   Procedures must be performed in a manner consistent with 
generally accepted parameters, including clean needle techniques, 
and standards of the Center for Communicable Diseases and meet 
safe and professional standards.     

3.   Electrocardiography (EKG/ECG)     
a.   One hundred and twenty (120) hours of initial and related clinical 

with didactic training and demonstrated competency in cardiac 
medicine.     

b.   Procedures may not be delegated to a technician and must be 
directly performed by a qualified and licensed doctor of 
chiropractic.     

c.   Procedures must be performed in a manner consistent with 
generally accepted parameters, including any relevant standards of 
the Center for Communicable Diseases and meet safe and 
professional standards.     

4.   Manipulation Under Anesthesia (MUA)     
a.   Thirty six (36) hours of didactic and clinical training, successful 

completion of a competency examination, and nationally 
recognized certification.     

b.   Professional liability insurance coverage to specifically include 
MUA.     

c.   Procedures must be performed in a manner consistent with 
generally accepted parameters and standards of practice.     

d.   Procedures shall be performed at either an ambulatory surgical 
center or outpatient hospital facility.     

e.   The role of the chiropractor shall be limited to the scope of 
chiropractic practice as defined in   § 12-33-102(1), C.R.S.     

C.   Nutritional Remedial Measures as referenced in   § 12-33-102(1), C.R.S., 
means that a doctor of chiropractic may administer, prescribe, recommend, 
compound, sell and distribute homeopathic and botanical medicines, vitamins, 
minerals, phytonutrients, antioxidants, enzymes, glandular extracts, non-
prescription drugs, durable and non-durable medical goods and devices.     

Rule 8   Continuing Education 
A.   The Board will accept continuing education that falls within these regulations and 

relies upon each individual chiropractor’s integrity in complying with this 
requirement.     

B.   Continuing chiropractic education program sponsors need not apply for nor 
expect to receive prior Board approval for a formal continuing chiropractic 
education program. The number of credit hours may be determined by counting 
the credit hours of instruction and rounding to the nearest quarter hour. The Board 
relies upon the integrity of the program sponsors to present continuing 



chiropractic education that constitutes a meritorious learning experience and 
complies with   §12-33-116 and 12-33-111, C.R.S. If the Board discovers 
that a sponsor has falsified information regarding the course, the sponsor may be 
required to have all future courses pre-approved.     

C.   Each licensed Colorado chiropractor in active practice within the state of 
Colorado is required annually to attend not less than fifteen hours of scientific 
clinics, forums, or chiropractic educational study consisting of subjects basic to 
the field of the healing arts as set forth in   §12-33-111, C.R.S. "Annually" is 
defined as the twelve month period between August 1 and July 31. Each renewal 
period contains two years (24 months). Each licensed Colorado chiropractor is 
required to maintain “Health Provider Level Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation”  
 (CPR) as is necessary to keep current and maintain valid certification, as 
provided by the American Heart Association or other organizations deemed 
equivalent by the Board. All current licensees must maintain proof of such 
certification. The hours necessary to maintain this cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
certification may be used towards the continuing education hours required.     

D.   Annual Requirements     
1.   The continuing education (CE) requirements for the licensee’s first 

renewal period is as follows:    
a.   Licensed less than twelve months – no CE required to renew 

license.     
b.   Licensed twelve to twenty-four months – 15 hours of CE must be 

completed.     
2.   Two of the fifteen hours of the annual continuing education requirements 

shall at a minimum be in recordkeeping and documentation.     
E.   Course content is limited to scientific subject matter basic to the field of the 

healing arts and includes, but is not limited to: Anatomy, embryology, histology, 
physiology, psychology, biochemistry, pathology, bacteriology, toxicology, 
pharmacology, public health, hygiene, sanitation, first aid, diagnosis (including 
but not limited to physical, laboratory and all other recognized diagnostic 
procedures), x-rays, obstetrics and gynecology, and principles and practice of 
chiropractic including but not limited to professional boundary issues, ethics, and 
adjustive technique.     

F.   Offerings in the promotion of practice building or office management shall not be 
approved for continuing education.     

G.   Offerings dealing with practices designated as untrue, misleading, and deceptive 
pursuant to Rule 14 and offerings dealing with practices outside the chiropractic 
scope of practice shall not be approved for continuing education.     

H.   Instructors must be qualified, as determined by the Board, to teach the course 
outlined.     



I.   Up to ten (10) hours per year of continuing education credit may be obtained by 
distance learning including, but not limited to, video and audio tapes or internet 
education programs. To obtain continuing education credit for distance learning, 
successful completion of a proficiency testing component is required.     

J.   The Board may conduct a random compliance audit of renewal applicants to 
verify course content, instructor qualifications, and number of hours completed. If 
the Board determines that the applicant has not obtained continuing education that 
falls within the subject matter defined in   §12-33-111, C.R.S. or the applicant 
fails to submit proof of continuing education satisfactory to the Board, the Board 
may consider disciplinary action for failure to comply with   §12-33-116, 
C.R.S.     

K.   The licensee must maintain in his/her own file, the dates of the program, 
certificate of attendance that includes hours in attendance, synopsis of the course 
content, identity of the course sponsor, and the qualifications of the instructor.     

Rule 9   Renewal of License 
Licensees who obtain licensure during the current two year licensing period shall be 
required to pay the entire renewal fee.     
Rule 10   Electrotherapy/Physical Remedial Measures 

CertificationPhysiotherapy 
A.   PhysiotherapyElectrotherapy certification is required prior to any licensee 

practicing electrophysiotherapy.     
B.   To receive certification, the chiropractic applicant shall present evidence of the 

following:     
1.   Successful completion of a course of not less than one hundred twenty 

(120) classroom hours in the subject taught by a school having status with 
the Council on Chiropractic Education or a Board n approved 
programvider; or     

2.   Passing Successful completion of a Board approved nationally recognized 
examination.     

C.   A clinical component must be present in the coursework to teach and demonstrate 
competency in the clinical applications of physioelectrotherapy.     

Rule 11   Use of the Title “Doctor”  
A.   Only those titles authorized by statute may be used.     
B.   Post-graduate degrees received from an institution accredited by the Council of 

Chiropractic Education or diplomat status may be used in conjunction with those 
titles authorized by statute.     

C.   Use of the title "doctor" or "Dr." in all forms of advertisement must be 
accompanied by the word "chiropractor," "chiropractic," or "D.C." readily 
displayed somewhere in the advertisement. It must be clear to the public that the 
advertisement is from a doctor of chiropractic.     

Rule 12   Misleading, Deceptive, False, or Unethical Advertising 



Doctors of chiropractic should take special care to advertise truthfully and to avoid 
exploitation of their position of trust. Because of the potential consequences of 
misinformation regarding health care and the importance of the interests affected by the 
choice of a doctor of chiropractic, chiropractors must avoid misleading the public. 
Chiropractors are responsible for the contents of their own advertisements and should 
review such advertisements to assure adherence to ethical standards.     
The following types of advertising constitute misleading, deceptive, false or unethical 
advertising pursuant to   § 12-33-117(1)(i), (p) and (3)(a):     
A.)   The misleading use of a claim regarding board certification, or of an unearned or 

non-health degree in any advertisement that is likely to cause confusion or 
misunderstanding as to the credentials, education, or licensure of a health care 
professional;     

B.)   Advertising that has the effect of intimidating or exerting undue pressure;     
C.)   Advertising that uses unsubstantiated testimonials;     
D.)   Advertising that creates an unjustified expectation or guarantees a cure;     
E.)   Advertising that offers gratuitous services or discounts, the purpose of which is to 

deceive the public;     
F.)   Advertising of free or discounted x-ray services; or     
G.)   Advertising that is otherwise misleading, deceptive or false.     
At the time any type of advertisement is placed, the chiropractor must possess 
information that would substantiate the truthfulness of any assertion, omission or claim 
set forth in the advertisement.     
Rule 13   Advertisement of Free or Discounted Services 
A.   Advertisement by licensee of free or discounted services shall be deemed false or 

misleading pursuant to   §12-33-117 (3)(a), C.R.S. unless:     
1.   Such advertising claims are truthful and detailed as to specific services 

provided for free or at a discounted price.     
2.   Prior to the performance of the free or discounted evaluation and the 

consultation regarding that evaluation, the licensee shall provide the 
patient with a written description of what services are being provided free 
or at a discounted price. This description shall also indicate the price of 
other services which may be offered for a fee, in conjunction with the free 
service, but that are not included in the offer for free or discounted 
services. The licensee shall provide the patient with a typed or computer 
generated copy of this notice for the patient’s retention and maintain a 
signed typed or computer generated copy in the patient’s file.     

B.   No separate charge shall be made for the professional evaluation of the free or 
discounted diagnostic tests whether such professional evaluation is made at the 
time of the initial office visit or at a later date.     

C.   The free service or reduced fee differential shall not be billed to a third-party 
payer for reimbursement.     



D.   The patient has the right to cancel the purchase of the written prepaid treatment 
contract of the discounted service for any reason at any time prior to 12 am of the 
30th day after the date of signing the written prepaid treatment contract by 
providing the doctor of chiropractic written notice of cancellation.   The doctor of 
chiropractic has the right to retain an itemized prorated amount that reflects those 
services that were rendered at the discounted rate charged in the written prepaid 
treatment contract.   The written prepaid contract should also include an 
itemized rate schedule.    

Rule 14   Untrue, Deceptive or Misleading Practices Regarding Unproven 
and/or Unnecessary Services 

Practices which are untrue, deceptive or misleading pursuant to   §12-33-107(1)(h), 
C.R.S. include but are not limited to the use of promotional materials which have the 
effect of enticing patients to a provider’s office for unproven and/or unnecessary services 
as listed in Rule 15, unless the advertisement has an adequate disclaimer.     
Rule 15   Procedures which are Unproven and Require Informed Consent 
A.   When an unproven procedure is provided, the chiropractor must obtain the written 

informed consent of the patient or the patient’s legal representative.     
B.   The following criteria will be used to determine, by a preponderance of evidence, 

whether a procedure is unproven:     
1.   Whether the procedure is taught as part of the regular curriculum of at 

least one college of chiropractic approved by the Council on Chiropractic 
Education.     

2.   Whether the procedure is based upon anatomical, physiological and/or 
structural relationships which can be verified through standard diagnostic 
procedures.     

3.   Whether the procedure has been supported by a body of evidence using 
standard scientific research methodology and whether the procedure has 
had periodic review by the Board based on current research as evidenced 
by:     
a.   Publication in a peer reviewed professional or scientific journal 

(e.g. Spine, Journal of Manipulative and Physiological 
Therapeutics (JMPT), Bone and Joint Surgery).     

b.   Supportive preliminary results in a peer review journal.     
c.   Investigation in progress, sponsored by an agency independent of 

the procedure’s proponents and/or developers (e.g., Federation of 
Chiropractic Education and Research).     

d.   Hypothesis clearly derived from supportive literature published in 
peer reviewed journals or texts.     

C.   Informed consent shall consist of the following: the patient shall be notified in 
writing that the procedure has been designated “unproven”   by the Board 
and that its effectiveness has not been demonstrated.     



D.   The patient shall be required to sign a written consent form before a licensee may 
use a procedure designated “unproven” . The consent form shall indicate 
conspicuously that the procedure anticipated for use has been designated 
“unproven”   by the Colorado State Board of Chiropractic Examiners and that 
permission is granted by the patient to proceed. A copy of this signed consent 
form shall be given to the patient for the patient’s retention.     

E.   Procedures, protocol, analysis or methodology which are unproven and require 
informed consent include, but are not limited to:     
1.   Soft or cold laser for uses not approved by the Food and Drug 

Administration.     
2.   Reams Procedure.     
3.   Iridology.     
4.   Reflexology.     
5.   Contact reflex analysis.     
6.   Diagnostic spinal ultrasound for the use of diagnosing paraspinal muscle 

inflammation, posterior joint swelling, nerve root inflammation, or other 
spinal pathology in the adult population.     

7.   Any practice system, analysis, method, or protocol which does not include 
the complete assessment, evaluation, or diagnosis of the condition to be 
treated before beginning treatment of the patient.     

8.   Any practice system, analysis, method or protocol, which relies upon 
diagnostic methods that are not generally recognized or accepted within 
the profession or which do not have scientific validity.     

9.   Any practice system, analysis, method, or protocol, which is represented 
as a means of attaining spiritual growth, comfort, or well-being.     

Rule 16   Declaratory Orders 
A.   Any person licensed pursuant to Article 33, Title 12, C.R.S., may petition the 

Board for a declaratory order to terminate controversies or to remove 
uncertainties as to the applicability to the petitioner of any statutory provisions or 
of any rule or order of the Board.     

B.   The Board will determine, in its discretion and without notice to petitioner, 
whether to rule upon any such petition. If the Board determines that it will not 
rule upon such a petition, the Board shall promptly notify the petitioner of its 
action and state the reasons for such action.     

C.   In determining whether to rule upon a petition filed pursuant to this rule, the 
Board will consider the following matters, among others:     
1.   Whether a ruling on the petition will terminate a controversy or remove 

uncertainties as to the applicability to petitioner of any statutory provision 
or rule or order of the Board.     



2.   Whether the petition involves any subject, question or issue which is the 
subject of a formal or informal matter or investigation currently pending 
before the Board or a court involving one or more of the petitioners.     

3.   Whether the petition involves any subject, question or issue which is the 
subject of a formal or informal matter or investigation currently pending 
before the Board or a court but not involving any petitioner.     

4.   Whether the petition seeks a ruling on a moot or hypothetical question or 
will result in an advisory ruling or opinion.     

5.   Whether the petitioner has some other adequate legal remedy, other than 
an action for declaratory relief pursuant to Rule 57, C.R.C.P., which will 
terminate the controversy or remove any uncertainty as to the applicability 
to the petitioner of the statute, rule or order in question.     

D.   Any petition filed pursuant to this rule shall set forth the following:     
1.   The name and address of the petitioner and whether the petitioner is 

licensed pursuant to Article 33, Title 12, C.R.S.     
2.   The statute, rule or order to which the petition relates.     
3.   A concise statement of all of the facts necessary to show the nature of the 

controversy or uncertainty and the manner in which the statute, rule or 
order in question applies or potentially applies to the petitioner.     

E.   If the Board determines that it will rule on the petition, the following procedures 
shall apply:     
1.   The Board may rule upon the petition based solely upon the facts 

presented in the petition. In such a case:     
a.   Any ruling of the Board will apply only to the extent of the facts 

presented in the petition and any amendment to the petition.     
b.   The Board may order the petitioner to file a written brief, 

memorandum or statement of position.     
c.   The Board may set the petition, upon due notice to the petitioner, 

for a non-evidentiary hearing.     
d.   The Board may dispose of the petition on the sole basis of the 

matters set forth in the petition.     
e.   The Board may request the petitioner to submit additional facts, in 

writing. In such event, such additional facts will be considered as 
an amendment to the petition.     

f.   The Board may take administrative notice of facts pursuant to the 
Administrative Procedure Act, C.R.S., 24-4-105 (8), and may 
utilize its experience, technical competence and specialized 
knowledge in the disposition of the petition.     

g.   If the Board rules upon the petition without a hearing, it shall 
promptly notify the petitioner of its decision.     



2.   The Board may, in its discretion, set the petition for hearing, upon due 
notice to petitioner, for the purpose of obtaining additional facts or 
information or to determine the truth of any facts set forth in the petition 
or to hear oral argument on the petition. The notice to the petitioner setting 
such hearing shall set forth, to the extent known, the factual or other 
matters into which the Board intends to inquire. For the purpose of such a 
hearing, to the extent necessary, the petitioner shall have the burden of 
proving all of the facts stated in the petition, all of the facts necessary to 
show the nature of the controversy or uncertainty, and the manner in 
which the statute, rule or order in question applies or potentially applies to 
the petitioner and any other facts the petitioner desires the Board to 
consider.     

F.   The parties to any proceeding pursuant to this rule shall be the Board and the 
petitioner. Any other person may seek leave of the Board to intervene in such a 
proceeding, and leave to intervene will be granted at the sole discretion of the 
Board. A petition to intervene shall set forth the same matters as required by 
Paragraph D of this rule. Any reference to a "petitioner" in this rule also refers to 
any person who has been granted leave to intervene by the Board.     

G.   Any declaratory order or other order disposing of a petition pursuant to this rule 
shall constitute agency action subject to judicial review pursuant to C.R.S. 24-4-
106.     

Rule 17   Acupuncture 
A.   All chiropractors who choose to practice acupuncture as an adjunct to their 

regular practice of chiropractic and who do not already hold a valid current 
acupuncture registration issued by the director of the Colorado Division of 
Registrations, must be certified by the Chiropractic Board. Applications for 
certification in acupuncture shall be made on forms provided by the Board. 
Certification in acupuncture by the State Board of Chiropractic Examiners may be 
obtained by complying with the following:     
1.   Completing a minimum of a combined total of 100 hours of theoretical 

study and supervised clinical instruction obtained from a school of 
chiropractic approved by the Council on Chiropractic Education or the 
equivalent hours of study and clinical supervision obtained from an 
instructor approved by the Board; and     

2.   Completing a minimum of 25 different cases, or     
32.   Passing Successful completion of a Board approved, nationally recognized 

examination that satisfies the requirements in 1 and 2 above.     
B.   The use of needle auriculotherapy or needle meridian therapy is exclusively 

limited to those licensees certified in acupuncture.     
Rule 18   Providing Patient Records 



A licensee shall provide patient records pursuant to   §25-1-802 (1), C.R.S. Failure 
to do so may be deemed to be in violation of   §12-33-117, C.R.S.     
Rule 19   Safety Training for Unlicensed Chiropractic Personnel 
A.   As provided for in   §12-33-202, C.R.S., the Board hereby establishes standards 

for unlicensed chiropractic personnel to operate a machine source of ionizing 
radiation (x-ray machine) or to administer such radiation to a patient for 
diagnostic purposes.     

B.   In order to qualify to operate an x-ray machine or to administer such radiation to a 
patient, unlicensed chiropractic personnel must successfully complete a Board 
approved course that satisfies the following requirements:     
1.   Basic radiological guidelines - 5 hours.     
2.   Operator and patient safety - 5 hours.     
3.   Practical and clinical experience in radiographic production, beam 

imaging formation, density, contrast, filtration, collimation, processing 
techniques, chart selection, positioning, examinations, high speed film 
selection, film marking, film storage, and darkroom procedures - 14 hours.  
   

C.   Any licensed chiropractor employing unlicensed chiropractic personnel to operate 
an x-ray machine or to administer such radiation to a patient shall maintain 
written verification of successful completion and training which must include:     
1.   A certificate with the name and authorized signature of the 

agency/educational institution or individual which provided the training;     
2.   Name and signature of the unlicensed person who successfully completed 

the education and training;     
3.   Verification of completion of hours specified in subsection B;     
4.   Date of completion; and     
5.   The original of the written verification shall be maintained in the 

personnel file and a copy shall be provided to the unlicensed person upon 
successful completion of the education and training.     

D.   No chiropractor shall allow any unlicensed person to operate an x-ray machine or 
to administer such radiation to any patient unless such unlicensed person has met 
the standards set forth herein. Any chiropractor who fails to comply with the 
provision of this rule may be subject to disciplinary action by the Board as 
provided for in   §12-33-117, C.R.S.     

Rule 20   Termination of Practice upon Suspension, Relinquishment or 
Revocation 

A.   Upon suspension of license, the licensee shall immediately stop the practice of 
chiropractic and shall tender his/her license to practice chiropractic to the Board 
within twenty-four (24) hours from the effective date of the suspension. The 
licensee shall notify all patients that the licensee has ceased the practice of 
chiropractic and must allow patients to make arrangements for the transfer of 



patient records. The licensee shall make the patient records or copies of the 
patient records available to a practitioner designated by the patient, or if the 
licensee’s practice is sold, to the chiropractor who purchases the practice. Written 
notice of the termination of practice must be made to all patients of the practice to 
the patient’s last known address, or by legal notice by publication.     

B.   Upon revocation and relinquishment of license, the licensee shall immediately 
stop the practice of chiropractic and shall tender his/her license to practice 
chiropractic to the Board within twenty-four (24) hours from the effective date of 
revocation or relinquishment. The licensee shall notify all patients within 30 
calendar days that the licensee has ceased the practice of chiropractic and that the 
patient must make arrangements for the transfer of patient records. The licensee 
shall make the patient records or copies of the patient records available to the 
patient, to a practitioner designated by the patient, or if the licensee’s practice is 
sold, to the chiropractor who purchases the practice. The transfer of patient 
records must be completed within 60 days. These terms may be set forth in the 
revocation or relinquishment order. Written notice of the termination of practice 
must be made to all patients of the practice to the patient’s last known address, or 
by legal notice by publication.     

C.   The practitioner who is suspended, relinquished, or revoked cannot be on the 
premises of the office to observe, monitor, or participate in any way in care given. 
A practitioner may derive no income from the practice either directly or indirectly 
during the period of suspension, except for treatment provided before the 
beginning of the suspension.     

D.   Any request to deviate from this rule must be set forth in writing to the Board. 
The board may review the request and may, upon good cause shown, issue an 
amended termination order. The decision to amend the terms for the termination 
of practice is final with the Board. A failure to comply with the provisions of the 
termination order may be grounds for disciplinary action for violation of a Board 
Order.     

Rule 21   Animals in the Office 
If a chiropractor allows animals in his/her office, the chiropractor shall be responsible for 
their proper care and feeding, shall have them vaccinated and licensed, as appropriate, 
and shall maintain compliance at all times with the sanitation requirements referenced in  
 §12-33-117(1)(g), C.R.S.     
Rule 22   Record Keeping Requirements 
Documentation of the patient’s health history, presenting complaint(s), progression of 
care, diagnosis, prognosis and treatment plan must be reflected in the record keeping and 
written reports of the patient file. Records are required to be contemporaneous, legible, 
utilize standard medical terminology or abbreviations, contain adequate identification of 
the patient, contain adequate identification of the provider of service and indicate the date 
the service was performed. All professional services rendered during each patient 



encounter should be documented. Any addition or correction to the patient file after the 
final form shall be signed and dated by the person making the addition or correction. The 
following minimum components must be documented within the patient file:     
A.   Initial Patient Visit:     

1.   History:     
a.   Chief complaint(s) described in terms of onset, provocative, 

palliative, quality, radiation, setting, and timing.     
b.   Surgical, hospitalization, past/recent illness, trauma, family, social, 

past/recent system review, and past/recent allergies.     
c.   Non-prescription, prescription, botanical, homeopathic medicines, 

and vitamin supplements.     
d.   A reasonable effort should be made to obtain and review pertinent 

records as clinically indicated from other health care providers, 
imaging facilities, or laboratories.     

2.   Examination:     
a.   Vital signs as clinically indicated.     
b.   Document examinations or tests ordered or performed and the 

results of each as necessitated by the patient’s clinical presentation 
consistent with common healthcare practices.     

c.   Document examinations of neuromusculoskeletal conditions using 
a format of inspection, palpation, neurological testing, range of 
motion, and orthopedic testing.     

d.   Document prognosis and/or outcome expectations.     
e.   When clinically indicated, treatment options/alternatives should be 

documented.     
f.   When referring to another healthcare provider, correspondence 

may be provided for patient care coordination.     
B.   Established Patient Visit:     

1.   Subjective Complaint: The patient’s description of complaints should be 
recorded at each visit indicating improvement, worsening, or no change.     

2.   Objective Findings: Changes in the clinical signs of a condition should be 
described by the chiropractor at each visit.     

3.   Assessment or Diagnosis: It is not necessary to update this category at 
each visit. However, periodic clinical re-evaluations should be performed, 
specifically documented and recorded in the daily entries. Changes in the 
patient’s diagnosis should be recorded in the daily entries when clinically 
indicated. Prognosis and/or outcome expectations should be updated 
periodically consistent with the clinical presentation.     

4.   Plan of Management: A provisional plan of management should be 
recorded initially and further entries should be made as this plan is 
modified and/or as a patient enters a new phase of treatment or has a 



diagnosis change. Changes in procedures should be documented and based 
on clinical assessment and reasoning.     

5.   Procedures: Daily recording of procedures performed should include a 
description of type and location of procedure. Units of time should be 
recorded when appropriate.     

C.   Ancillary Documentation:     
1.   Correspondence sent and received.     
2.   Specialty reports (diagnostic imaging, laboratory results, nerve conduction 

studies, etc.).     
3.   Communications (telephone conversations, dialogue with patient guardian 

or other healthcare providers).     
D.   Patient clinical records shall be maintained for a minimum of seven (7) years after 

the last date of treatment or examination, or at least two years after the patient 
reaches the age of eighteen, whichever occurs later. If patient records are 
maintained electronically, then a back-up and data recovery system must be in 
place.     

E.   When the destruction cycle is imminent, written notice to the patient’s last known 
address, or notice by publication, must be made sixty (60) days prior to 
destruction allowing a thirty (30) day period wherein the patient may claim 
his/her records. When a patient claims such records, the records must be provided 
to the patient, or legal guardian, at no charge; however, recovery of appropriate 
postage and handling costs is permitted.     

F.   Records shall be destroyed in a manner that totally obliterates all information 
contained in the record such as by incinerating or shredding.     

G.   Records may not be withheld for outstanding/past due professional fees. A 
reasonable fee for copying records may be assessed to the requesting party.     

Rule 23   Solicitation of Accident Victims 
Any licensee, either directly or through an agent, engaging in permissible solicitation 
under   §12-29.1-102(2), C.R.S. shall fully disclose in writing to the patient, prior to 
establishing a doctor-patient relationship, the nature of the solicitation as well as the 
licensee’s relationship with other service providers.     
Rule 24   General Licensing Provisions 
A.   The following provisions shall be in effect relating to change of name and 

address.     
1.   The licensee shall submit legal evidence of name change by court record 

or marriage certificate in order for such change to be made on Board 
records.     

2.   The licensee shall submit any change of address within 30 days of such 
change. The change of address may be submitted in writing, by fax, or 
electronically. Telephone notification will not be accepted. Failure to 
notify the Board of the above changes within the guidelines outlined 



above may result in Board action against the licensee pursuant to   §12-
33-114.5, C.R.S.     

3.   Any notification by the Board to licensees, required or permitted, under  
 §12-33-101 et seq., C.R.S. or the Colorado Administrative 
Procedures Act shall be addressed to the last address provided formally to 
the Board by the licensee and any such mailing shall be deemed proper 
service on said licensee.     

B.   An application for a license or authority not completed within one year of the date 
of the original application shall be deemed null and void. Such applicant shall be 
required to complete the entire application process again including payment of the 
application fee.     

C.   Applications that have not been completed within one year of the date of the 
original application will be purged and destroyed.     

Rule 25   Chiropractor Patient Relationships 
At no time shall a chiropractor use his/her influence or position of authority as a means to 
initiate or promulgate a sexual act or relationship with a patient. Sexually intimate acts 
and relationships that exist between life-partners or in a marriage do not preclude the 
doctor of chiropractic from providing the partner or spouse with chiropractic healthcare. 
The Board generally does not interpret   §12-33-117(1)(aa), C.R.S. to include 
intimate relationships that exist prior to the initiation of treatment.     
Rule 26   Sanitary and Hygienic Remedial Measures 
Failure to utilize generally accepted standards of sanitary, hygienic, and public health 
measures may violate section 12-33-102(1), C.R.S., and be subject to disciplinary action 
under section 12-33-117(b) & (q), C.R.S.    
Rule 27 Reporting Felony Convictions 
The purpose of the rule is to clarify the procedures for reporting felony convictions 
pursuant to Section 12-33-117 (1)(c), C.R.S. 
 A. A licensee, as defined in §§ 12-33-101(2), 12-33-102(1), 12-33-111, 12-33-112, 
12-33-112.5, 12-33-113, 12-33-114, 12-33-115, C.R.S., including but not limited to 
registered practitioners of chiropractic, or licensed practitioners of chiropractic, herein 
after known as “chiropractors” shall inform the Colorado State Board of Chiropractic 
Examiners, in a manner set forth by the Colorado State Board of Chiropractic Examiners, 
within forty-five (45) days of the conviction of the licensee of a felony under the laws of 
any state or of the United States.    
 
B. The conviction of the licensee of a felony under the laws of any state or of the 
United States is grounds for discipline pursuant to § 12-33-117(c), C.R.S.    
 
C. For purposes of this rule, a “conviction” includes: 
 

1. A guilty verdict; 



2. A plea of guilty accepted by the court; or 
3. A plea of nolo contendere (no contest) accepted by the court, or 
4. The imposition of a deferred sentence. 

 
D. The notice to the Board shall include the following information:  
 

1. The court;  
2. The jurisdiction;  
3. The case name 
4. The case number 
5. A description of the matter or a copy of the indictment or charges.  

 
E. The licensee shall inform the Board of the following information within 45 days 
of each such occurrence: 
 

 1. The imposition of sentence for the felony conviction. 
 2. The completion of all terms of the sentence for the felony 
conviction. 

 
F. The licensee notifying the board may submit a written statement with any notice 
under this rule to be included in the licensee records.  
 
G. This rule shall apply to any conviction or plea as described in paragraph C of this 
rule that occurs on or after the effective date of this rule. 
RULE 28 Exceptions and Director’s Review of Initial Decisions 
The purpose of the rule is to set forth the procedures surrounding the filing of exceptions 
and review of initial decisions pursuant to Section 24-4-105(14) and (15), C.R.S. 
 
A. Written Form, Service, Time, and Filing Requirements. 
 

1. All designations of record, requests, motions, exceptions, and any 
responses thereto (hereinafter “Pleading” or “Pleadings”) must be in written form, 
mailed with a certificate of service to the Board and the opposing party.    
 
2. In the event that an electronic filing system is implemented in the Division 
of Registrations for the receipt of Pleadings, the items listed in this paragraph may 
be submitted in electronic form with a certificate of filing to the Board and the 
opposing party. 
 



3. All Pleadings must be received by the Board by 5:00 pm on the date the 
filing is due and must be served on the opposing party.   These rules do not 
provide any additional time service by mail.    
 
4. All Pleadings must be filed with the Board; not with the Office of 
Administrative Courts.   Any Pleading filed in error with the Office of 
Administrative Courts will not be considered.  

 
B. Authority to Review. 

 
1. The Board hereby initiates the review of all initial decisions on its own 
motion pursuant to Section 24-4-105(14)(a)(II), C.R.S., without requiring a vote 
in each case.    
 
2. This option to review shall apply regardless of whether a party files 
exceptions to the initial decision.    
 

C. Designation of Record and Transcripts. 
 
1. Any party seeking to reverse or modify the initial decision of the 
administrative law judge shall file with the Board a designation of the relevant 
parts of the record for review (“Designation of Record”).   Designations of 
Record are due and must be received by the Board within twenty days of the date 
on which the Board mails the initial decision to the parties’ address of record with 
the Board. 
 
2. In the absence of a Designation of Record, the record for purposes of the 
Board’s review of the Initial Decision as set forth in Section 24-4-105(14)(a) shall 
in all cases include the following: 
 
a. All Pleadings filed with the Office of Administrative Courts or applicable 
hearing tribunal; 
b. All applications presented or considered during the hearing; 
c. All documentary or other exhibits admitted into evidence at the hearing; 
d. All documentary or other exhibits presented or considered during the 
hearing; 
e. All matters officially noticed during the hearing; and 
f. Any findings of fact and conclusions of law proposed by any party at the 
hearing.  
 



3. Transcripts:   Transcripts shall not be deemed part of a Designation of 
Record unless specifically identified, ordered and timely filed.   To designate a 
transcript or portion thereof, the following procedures apply: 
 

a. The Designation of Record must identify with specificity the 
transcript or portion thereof to be transcribed.   For example, a party 
may designate the entire transcript, testimony of particular witness(es), a 
legal ruling or argument, or other information necessary to identify the 
portion of the transcript to be transcribed. 
 
b. Any party who includes a transcript or a portion thereof as part of 
the Designation of Record must order the transcript or relevant portions by 
the date on which the Designation of Record is due.   As noted 
above, a Designation of Record is due within twenty days of the date on 
which the Board mails the initial decision to the parties. 
 
c. When ordering the transcript, the ordering party shall request the 
court reporter to complete and provide the Board the transcript and one 
copy of the transcript within thirty days and shall timely pay all fees 
associated with such a request.    
 
e. If a party designates a portion of the transcript, the opposing party 
may file a Supplemental Designation of Record identifying additional 
portions of the transcript.   This Supplemental Designation of Record is 
due and must be received by the Board within ten days after the date on 
which the original Designation of Record was due and received by the 
Board. 
 
f. A party filing a Supplemental Designation of Record shall request 
the court reporter to complete and provide the Board the supplemental 
transcript and one copy of the supplemental transcript within thirty days of 
the Supplemental Designation of Record and shall timely pay all fees 
associated with such a request.    
 
g. Transcripts that are ordered by either party and not provided to the 
Board in a timely manner by the court reporter due to non-payment, 
insufficient payment or failure to request as set forth above will not be 
considered by the Board. 
 

D. Exceptions and Responsive Pleadings 
 



1.   Any party filing exceptions shall adhere to the following timelines: 
 

a. If no transcripts are ordered, exceptions are due within thirty days 
from the date the Board mails the initial decision to the parties.   Both 
parties’ exceptions are due on the same date.    
 
b. If transcripts are ordered by either party, the following procedure 
shall apply:    
 

i. Upon timely receipt of all transcripts identified in the 
Designations of Record, the Board shall mail notification to the 
parties stating that the transcripts have been received.  
 Exceptions are due within thirty days from the date on 
which such notification is mailed.   Both parties’ exceptions are 
due on the same date.    
 

2. Either party may provide a responsive pleading to the other party’s 
exceptions.   All responsive pleadings shall be due and received by the Board 
within 10 days of the date on which the exceptions were due.   No other 
pleadings will be considered except for good cause shown. 
 
3. The Board may in its sole discretion, upon a showing of good cause, grant 
an extension of time to provide a designation of record, exceptions or responsive 
pleadings, or may delegate the discretion to grant such an extension of time to the 
Board’s Program Director or the Program Director’s designee. 
 

E.   Request for Oral Argument 
 

All requests for oral argument must be in writing and filed by the deadline for 
responsive pleadings.   Requests received by the Board after this time will 
not be considered. 
 
2. It is within the sole discretion of the Board to grant or deny a request for 
oral argument.   If oral argument is granted, both parties shall have the 
opportunity to participate. 
 
3. Each side shall be permitted five minutes for oral argument unless such 
time is extended by the Board or its Program Director. 
 

 
 


