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I. BY THE COMMISSION 

A. Statement 

1. The Colorado Public Utilities Commission (Commission) issues this Notice  

of Proposed Rulemaking (NOPR) to consider amendments to Rules 6003 (Petitions),  

6018 (Maximum Civil Penalties, without Statutory Enhancement), 6020 (Report by Commission 

Staff), 6117 (Age and Condition of Passenger Carrying Motor Vehicles), 6302 (Application and 

Permit), and 6305 (Luxury Limousine) of the Commission’s Rules Regulating Transportation by 

Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-6.  The Commission has statutory authority 

to adopt these rules under §§ 40-2-108 and 40-10.1-106, C.R.S. 

2. The Commission issues this NOPR to reexamine and consider revisions  

to its rules regarding the age of the motor vehicles allowed to be used by regulated motor carriers 

in the State of Colorado.  The proposed amendments to the above listed rules for consideration  

in this rulemaking are available for review as Attachment A (redline) and Attachment B (clean) 

to this Decision through the Commission’s Electronic Filings website (Proceeding  

No. 21R-0359TR) at https://www.dora.state.co.us/pls/efi/EFI.homepage.  

3. The proposed amendments reflect the Commission’s intent to consider adjusting 

the way that it addresses and balances the issue of aging motor vehicles in carrier fleets and the 

need to ensure the continued safety of the traveling public.  Through this NOPR, the 

Commission proposes to eliminate the bright-line 15-year age limit established in the current 

rules, and the attendant petition process for waiving this fixed age limit, and instead focus on 

requiring periodic safety inspections of all motor vehicles.  The Commission proposes that this 

modified approach will render the Commission’s consideration of the safety of older motor 

vehicles more objective and uniform across all regulated motor carriers.  This approach will 
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eliminate the need for rule waivers, based on the specific circumstances of individual motor 

carriers, and instead rely upon the uniform requirement that all motor vehicles must continue to 

meet the rigorous periodic safety inspection requirements, with increased frequency as they age 

or increase in mileage, as set forth in Commission rules. 

4. The Commission welcomes comments from interested rulemaking participants, 

regarding the amendments proposed in this NOPR.  To the extent a participant disagrees with the 

proposed amendments, they are encouraged to submit comments that include any suggested 

revisions to the rule language in legislative (i.e., strikeout) format. 

B. Background 

5. As noted in prior Commission Proceeding No. 94R-398CP, age of motor vehicle 

rules were adopted for taxicab carriers dating back to at least, 1994.  Over the years, the motor 

vehicle age restrictions for taxicab carriers have ranged between 8 and 12 years.  Similar age 

limitations were applied to luxury limousine vehicles, based on rules adopted in Proceeding  

No. 07R-327TR.  Since they were first adopted, the motor vehicle age restrictions for luxury 

limousine carriers have ranged between 10 and 15 years.  Based on Proceeding No. 11R-792TR, 

the Commission imposed age of motor vehicle rules on additional intrastate regulated carriers, 

limiting them to 12 years.  Most recently, through Proceeding No. 17R-0796TR, the age 

restrictions for motor vehicles in applicable categories of services were increased.  At the same 

time, an additional range of carriers not previously subject to any specific motor vehicle age 

restrictions, including those operating larger or wheelchair accessible motor vehicles, and those 

operating under various types of limited regulation permits (other than luxury limousines 

carriers), were limited to 15 years.  Additional rules were also adopted regarding the procedures 
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for how to petition for a waiver from the maximum age of motor vehicle rules, as well as what 

information to include in such petitions.   

6. While most of the passenger carrying transportation carriers regulated by the 

Commission have simply complied with the aforementioned age rules, some have elected to file 

petitions for a waiver of these provisions, rather than replace the noncompliant motor vehicles.  

Between 2014 and 2019, Commission records show approximately 1,651 age of motor vehicle 

petitions have been filed.  In response to these filings, the Commission has denied less than  

8 percent. 

7. The Commission is concerned that the review of individual carriers’ petitions for 

waiver of the age of motor vehicle rules can require more of a subjective determination, based on 

individual circumstances presented in the petition, rather than an objective safety analysis of the 

subject motor vehicle, based on a clear set of safety criteria.  To address this concern, the 

proposed rule changes shift away from the more subjective petition for rule waiver process and 

instead focus on ensuring continued safety to the traveling public by requiring motor vehicles to 

pass rigorous periodic safety inspections more regularly, as the vehicles age or increase in 

mileage.  The proposed rules establish appropriate standards for more frequent inspections, based 

on both age of motor vehicle and mileage. 

C. Discussion of Proposed Amendments to Age of Motor Vehicle Rules 

8. The proposed amendments to the Age of Motor Vehicle Rules are shown in 

Attachment A (redline) and Attachment B (clean) to this Decision.  These changes reflect the rule 

changes discussed below. 



Before the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado  

Decision No. C21-0461 PROCEEDING NO. 21R-0359TR 

 

5 

1. Rule 6003(b) and (c). Petitions    

9. This rule provides procedures for when a petition for rule waiver is filed.  The 

proposed amendment removes references to Rules 6117 and 6305 in part (b) of the existing rule.  

It is also proposed that part (c) of the existing rule be eliminated, in its entirety, as it will no 

longer be relevant. 

2. Rule 6018(e). Maximum Civil Penalties, without Statutory 

Enhancement  

10. It is proposed that the civil penalty reference relating to the age of motor vehicle 

be removed and replaced with a civil penalty reference relating to the condition of motor vehicle. 

3. Rule 6020(m). Report by Commission Staff  

11. It is proposed that existing Rule 6020(m) be eliminated in its entirety, to remove 

the requirement for Commission Transportation Staff to include the number of petitions for age 

waivers for each year, and the previous four years, action taken by the Commission, and age of 

vehicles and mileage for petitions granted and denied.  Remaining paragraphs should be 

renumbered, as appropriate. 

4. Rule 6117(b) through (g). Age and Condition of Passenger Carrying 

Motor Vehicles 

12. It is proposed that the reference to motor vehicle age in the header of these rules 

be removed.  It is also proposed that paragraphs 6117(b) and (c) be eliminated, in their entirety, 

to remove maximum age of motor vehicle requirements.  Existing paragraph 6117(d) is proposed 

to be altered to remove the current safety inspection requirements, based on the age and mileage 

of motor vehicles, and replaced with clearer safety inspection requirements, also based on a 

combination of age and mileage of motor vehicles.  All motor vehicles are required to have 

periodic safety inspections, as set forth in Rules 6103 and 6104.  More specifically, for motor 
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vehicles that are over eight model years old and/or have more than 150,000 miles, inspections 

will need to be completed every six months.  For motor vehicles that are over 15 model years old 

and/or have more than 225,000 miles, inspections will need to be completed every three months.  

It is believed that these requirements will provide equity among all carrier types and 

reestablishes criteria for safety inspections, based on the principle that motor vehicles that are 

older or have higher mileage should be inspected more frequently.  Existing paragraph (e) is 

proposed to be updated to calculate the age of motor vehicles for purposes of the revised rule. 

13. It is proposed that existing paragraph (f), sections (I) and (II), be amended to 

include the word “significant”.  As currently written, the rules for condition of motor vehicles 

leave no room for a motor vehicle, other than a motor vehicle in perfect condition, to be used for 

passenger transportation.  This creates a situation where, for example, a motor vehicle that has a 

minor defect would not meet the minimum requirements.  While the condition of motor vehicles 

providing passenger transportation services need to meet high standards, those standards should 

also be reasonable.  Existing paragraph (g) is proposed to be eliminated, in its entirety, to remove 

requirements of what must be included in a petition for waiver of age of motor vehicle rules.  

Remaining paragraphs will be renumbered, as appropriate.  

5. Rule 6302(e) and (f). Application and Permit 

14. It is proposed that the reference to “Age and Condition” be removed in both 

paragraphs (e) and (f). 

6. Rule 6305(a)(V) and (c). Luxury Limousine 

15. It is proposed that the reference to age of motor vehicle in paragraph 6305(a)(V) 

be removed.  It is also proposed that paragraph (c) be eliminated, in its entirety. 
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D. Questions to Stakeholders 

16. With the proposed elimination of the age of motor vehicle rules, the provisioning 

of information that may help the Commission with data analysis of individual providers and 

specific industries is being removed, by way of filed petitions. 

17. The Commission requests that stakeholders provide information on whether 

additional reporting or records should be requested and/or kept, regarding the age and mileage of 

motor vehicles, given the proposed absence of a specific waiver process for older motor vehicles. 

18. The Commission also requests that stakeholders consider and recommend any 

specific considerations for seasonal fleets, which may not operate for six months of the year or 

more, to ensure that motor vehicles falling within the age and mileage ranges requiring more 

frequent inspections understand the expectations that the rules establish for them. 

19. Finally, the Commission requests that stakeholders comment on the inclusion of 

the word “significant” in the motor vehicle condition rules or, in the alternative, provide 

proposed ideas and/or language that would allow Commission discretion regarding any motor 

vehicle condition defects. 

E. Conclusion 

20. Through this NOPR, the Commission solicits comments from interested persons 

and stakeholders on whether to adopt, revise, or not adopt, some or all the proposed amendments 

to the age of motor vehicles rules, as set forth in the attachments to this Decision and discussed 

above.  The Commission encourages members of the transportation industry and other interested 

persons to participate in the rulemaking proceeding and to contribute to the rulemaking record, 

on which the Commission will base its decision on whether to adopt rule amendments.   
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21. The Commission refers this matter to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) for the 

issuance of a recommended decision.  The ALJ will hold a hearing on the proposed rules at the 

below-stated time and place.  In addition to submitting written comments, participants will have 

an opportunity to present comments orally at the hearing, unless the ALJ deems oral 

presentations unnecessary.  The Commission will consider all comments submitted in this 

Proceeding, whether oral or written. 

II. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. This Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, including attachments, shall be filed with 

the Colorado Secretary of State for publication in the August 10, 2021 edition of The Colorado 

Register. 

2. The Commission invites comments from interested persons on the proposed 

amendments to the Commission’s Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of 

Colorado Regulations 723-6, as described in this Decision and its attachments.  The Commission 

prefers and encourages interested persons to file comments through the Commission’s Electronic 

Filings website (Proceeding No. 21R-0359TR) at:  

https://www.dora.state.co.us/pls/efi/EFI.Show_Docket?p_session_id=&p_docket_

id=21R-0359TR. 

3. This matter is referred to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) for the issuance of a 

recommended decision. 

https://www.dora.state.co.us/pls/efi/EFI.Show_Docket?p_session_id=&p_docket_id=21R-0359TR
https://www.dora.state.co.us/pls/efi/EFI.Show_Docket?p_session_id=&p_docket_id=21R-0359TR
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4. The rulemaking hearing on the proposed rules and related matters shall be held 

before an ALJ, as follows: 

DATE September 20, 2021  

TIME: 9:00 a.m. until not later than 5:00 p.m. 

PLACE: By video conference using Zoom at a link to be provided to 

parties by email prior to the scheduled hearing date. 

  

5. The ALJ will set procedures for a remote hearing, if necessary, by a separate 

decision issued in this Proceeding. 

6. The ALJ may set additional hearings, if necessary. 

7. Written comments may be filed at any time in this Proceeding.  Initial written 

comments are requested to be filed no later than August 27, 2021, and any comments responsive 

to the initial comments are requested to be filed no later than September 10, 2021, so that the 

initial comments and responsive comments may be considered at the hearing. 

8. At the time set for hearing, interested persons may submit written comments and 

may present these orally, unless the ALJ deems oral comments unnecessary.  The Commission 

will consider all comments, whether written or oral. 

9. This Decision is effective upon its Mailed Date. 
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B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING  

July 14, 2021 
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