
 

 

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

DIVISION OF LABOR 

 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING CONCERNING 

COLORADO MINIMUM WAGE ORDER NUMBER 32 

 

Notice is hereby given of a public hearing to afford all interested persons an opportunity to be 

heard prior to the adoption of Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 32, 7 CCR 1103-1 under 

the authority granted the Division of Labor in § 8-1-107(2)(p), § 8-6-106, § 8-6-108(2), § 8-6-

109, C.R.S. (2015). 

 

Date and Time of Hearing:    Monday, November 9, 2015, at 2:00 p.m. 

 

Place of Hearing:  Colorado Department of Labor 

Division of Labor 

633 17
th

 Street, Second Floor, Suite 200    

Denver, CO 80202  

 

This hearing will be held in accordance with the provisions of the Colorado Administrative 

Procedures Act, § 24-4-l01, et seq., C.R.S. (2015), to receive any testimony, written data, views, 

or arguments which interested parties may wish to submit regarding the proposed rules. 

 

Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 32:  

 

It is proposed, in accordance with Article XVIII, Section 15, of the Colorado Constitution, that 

the Director of the Division of Labor adopt Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 32, 7 CCR 

1103-1, to reflect the new state minimum wage.  

 

Pursuant to Article XVIII, Section 15, of the Colorado Constitution, Colorado Minimum Wage 

Order Number 32 will establish a new state minimum wage of $8.31 per hour.  

 

Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 32 differs from the current Colorado Minimum Wage 

Order Number 31 in the state minimum wage.  

 

Copies of the proposed sets of rules shall be available at least five days before the hearing at 

www.coloradolaborlaw.gov or: 

 

Colorado Division of Labor 

633 17
th

 Street, Suite 200 

Denver, Colorado 80202 

 

To ensure sufficient time for consideration prior to adopting final rules, comments must be 

provided to the Division by the close of business on Monday, November 9, 2015. Comments will 

be accepted at any time prior to the hearing.  

 

Comments may be delivered by mail, faxed to 303-318-8400, or emailed to 

Elizabeth.Funk@state.co.us. 

 

Comment Deadline: Monday, November 9, 2015 

http://www.coloradolaborlaw.gov/
mailto:Elizabeth.Funk@state.co.us


STATEMENT OF BASIS AND PURPOSE  
 

COLORADO MINIMUM WAGE ORDER NUMBER 32 

7 CCR 1103-1 
 

BASIS: § 8-1-107(2)(p), § 8-6-106, § 8-6-108(2), and § 8-6-109 C.R.S. (2015), provide 

the Director of the Division of Labor with the authority to adopt rules and regulations 

pertaining to state minimum wage rates and workplace conditions.     

 

PURPOSE: The purpose of Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 32 is to reflect the 

new state minimum wage of $8.31 per hour. The new state minimum wage is required by 

Article XVIII, Section 15 of the Colorado Constitution, which provides: 

 

Section 15. State minimum wage rate. 

Effective January 1, 2007, Colorado's minimum wage shall be 

increased to $6.85 per hour and shall be adjusted annually for 

inflation, as measured by the Consumer Price Index used for 

Colorado. This minimum wage shall be paid to employees who 

receive the state or federal minimum wage. No more than $3.02 

per hour in tip income may be used to offset the minimum wage of 

employees who regularly receive tips. 

 

Pursuant to § 24-4-103(4)(b), C.R.S. (2015), the Director finds that: 1) there is a 

demonstrated need for the rules; 2) the proper statutory authority exists for the rules; 3) to 

the extent practicable, the rules are clearly stated so that their meaning will be understood 

by any party required to comply with the rules; 4) the rules do not conflict with other 

provisions of law; and 5) the duplicating or overlapping of the rules is explained by the 

agency proposing the rules. 

 
 


