
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 
DIVISION OF LABOR 

 
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING CONCERNING 

PROPOSED COLORADO MINIMUM WAGE ORDER NUMBER 29 
AND REPEAL OF OBSOLETE RULE, 7 CCR 1101-13 

 
Notice is hereby given of a public hearing to afford all interested persons an opportunity to be 
heard prior to the adoption of Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 29, 7 CCR 1103-1, under 
the authority granted the Division of Labor in § 8-1-107(2)(p), § 8-6-106, § 8-6-108(2), and § 8-
6-109, C.R.S. (2012). The Division additionally proposes to repeal an unrelated and obsolete 
rule, 7 CCR 1101-13, entitled General Regulation No. 1 Regular Public Meetings. 
 
Date and Time of Hearing:    Thursday, November 1, 2012, at 2:00 p.m. 
 
Place of Hearing:  Colorado Division of Labor 

633 17th Street, Second Floor, Suite 200    
Denver, CO 80202  

 
This hearing will be held in accordance with the provisions of the Colorado Administrative 
Procedures Act, § 24-4-l01, et seq., C.R.S. (2012), to receive any testimony, written data, views, 
or arguments which interested parties may wish to submit regarding the proposed Colorado 
Minimum Wage Order, or pertaining to the repeal of the separate obsolete rule. 
 
It is proposed, in accordance with Article XVIII, Section 15, of the Colorado Constitution, that 
the Director of the Division of Labor adopt Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 29, 7 CCR 
1103-1, to reflect the new state minimum wage.  
 
Pursuant to Article XVIII, Section 15, of the Colorado Constitution, Colorado Minimum Wage 
Order Number 29 will establish a new state minimum wage of $7.78 per hour.  
 
Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 29 differs from the current Colorado Minimum Wage 
Order Number 28 in the state minimum wage.  
 
The Division also proposes to repeal an unrelated and obsolete rule, 7 CCR 1101-13, General 
Regulation No. 1 Regular Public Meetings, in the course of this rulemaking. This rule is no 
longer applicable, as it pertains to the operation of the Industrial Commission, which was 
abolished in 1986.  
 
Copies of the proposed Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 29 and General Regulation No. 
1 Regular Public Meetings shall be available at least five days before the hearing at 
www.coloradolaborlaw.gov or: 
 

Colorado Division of Labor 
633 17th Street, Suite 200 
Denver, Colorado 80202 
 
 

http://www.coloradolaborlaw.gov/


 STATEMENT OF BASIS AND PURPOSE  
 

COLORADO MINIMUM WAGE ORDER NUMBER 29, 7 CCR 1103-1 
 

REPEAL OF OBSOLETE RULE, 7 CCR 1101-13  
 

BASIS: § 8-1-107(2)(p), § 8-6-106, § 8-6-108(2), and § 8-6-109 C.R.S. (2012), provide 
the Director of the Division of Labor with the authority to adopt rules and regulations 
pertaining to state minimum wage rates and workplace conditions.     
 
PURPOSE: The purpose of Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 29 is to reflect the 
new state minimum wage of $7.78 per hour. The new state minimum wage is required by 
Article XVIII, Section 15 of the Colorado Constitution, which provides: 
 

Section 15. State minimum wage rate. 
Effective January 1, 2007, Colorado's minimum wage shall be 
increased to $6.85 per hour and shall be adjusted annually for 
inflation, as measured by the Consumer Price Index used for 
Colorado. This minimum wage shall be paid to employees who 
receive the state or federal minimum wage. No more than $3.02 
per hour in tip income may be used to offset the minimum wage of 
employees who regularly receive tips. 
 

REPEAL OF OBSOLETE RULE: The Division also proposes to repeal an unrelated 
and obsolete rule, 7 CCR 1101-13, General Regulation No. 1 Regular Public Meetings, in 
the course of this rulemaking. This rule is no longer applicable, as it pertains to the 
operation of the Industrial Commission, which was abolished in 1986. 
 
Pursuant to § 24-4-103(4)(b), C.R.S. (2012), the Director finds that: 1) there is a 
demonstrated need for the new rules and the repeal of the obsolete rules; 2) the proper 
statutory authority exists for the new rules and the repeal of the obsolete rules; 3) to the 
extent practicable, the new rules are clearly stated so that their meaning will be 
understood by any party required to comply with the rules; 4) the new rules do not 
conflict with other provisions of law; and 5) the duplicating or overlapping of the new 
rules is explained by the agency proposing the rules. 
 
 



To ensure sufficient time for consideration prior to adopting final rules, comments must be 
provided to the Division by the close of business on November 5, 2012. Comments will be 
accepted at any time prior to the hearing.  
 
Comments may be delivered by mail, faxed to 303-318-8400, or emailed to 
Isabel.cummings@state.co.us .  
 
Comment Deadline: November 5, 2012 

 

mailto:Isabel.cummings@state.co.us

