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MEMORANDUM 

 

Date:  April 3, 2018 

 

To:  State Housing Board  

 

From:  Mo Miskell, Program Manager 

 

Subject: Fee Holiday  
 

 

As we wind down our fiscal year, which ends June 30, 2018, it has become apparent that the Housing 

Technology and Standards Section is running a surplus due to a combination of events. Primarily as a 

result of $200,000 being returned to the program by the General Assembly and the raising of fees at that 

same time due to the program running over budget.  

 

As a result, we have a unique opportunity to provide a fee holiday of one month for most of our customers 

and thereby returning excess funds to them—to run from April 15th to May 15th. We are proposing that the 

State Housing Board reduce all total fees that are not set in statute and are associated with maintaining 

this program to $1.00 for those 30 days. The two fees set in statute that will be exempt from this fee 

reduction are those associated with becoming a registered seller and installer.  

 

In order to accomplish this, the State Housing Board would be required to convene a temporary 

rulemaking hearing to adopt a revision to the current rules for this program that would then implement te 

proposed fee holiday. Therefore, it is greatly appreciated if the State Housing Board consider doing so at 

its next scheduled monthly meeting on Tuesday, April 10th after it has concluded its regular business.  

 

We request that you consider a motion to temporarily reduce the following fees established in rules to 

$1.00 for the period April 15, 2018, through May 15, 2018: 

 

Resolution #34 “Factory Built Housing” – Schedule “A” 

 

 Annual Plant registration fee:    $600.00 

 Annual Inspection Agency registration fee:   $250.00 

 Plan checking fees (maximum 3-sets):  Finished space $0.25 per sq. ft. ($160 min.) 

Unfinished space*$0.10 per sq. ft. 

    *(i.e. unfinished habitable attics, unfinished lofts, garages, etc.) 

 Certification insignia fee:  Primary Insignia  $125.00 

Additional Floor Tag $125.00 

Inspection only Tag $125.00 

 Supplemental plan check fee (revisions, duplicate sets, etc.): $0.10 per sq. ft. ($50 min.) 

Note: Fee for revisions to be calculated based on space revised. 

 Third party oversight plan check fee:   $0.15 per sq. ft. ($100 min.) 

 Inspection fees: 



 

 

Governor John W. Hickenlooper  |  Irv Halter, Executive Director  |   Alison George, Division Director 

1313 Sherman St., Room 320 Denver, CO 80203 P 303.864.7836 F 303.864.7857  TDD/TTY 303.864.7758  www.dola.colorado.gov 

Strengthening Colorado Communities 

 Plant certification inspection fee:   $350.00 per inspection 

 Oversight inspection fee:    $270.00 per inspection per address 

 Special inspection fee: 

In-State: $50.00 per hour, per inspector plus trip expenses of travel, food, lodging, 

parking, car rental, etc. as allowed in state fiscal rules for per diem and travel. 

Out-of-State units manufactured in Colorado: $350.00 per inspection per unit 

 Non Compliance/Prohibited Sale/Red Tag fee: $250.00 

 

Resolution #35 “Factory Built Nonresidential Structures – Schedule “A” 

 

 Annual Plant registration fee:    $600.00 

 Annual Inspection Agency registration fee:   $250.00 

 Plan checking fees (maximum 3-sets):  Finished space $0.25 per sq. ft. ($160 min.) 

Unfinished space $0.10 per sq. ft.  

 Certification insignia fee:  Primary Insignia  $125.00 

Additional Floor Tag $125.00 

Inspection only Tag $125.00 

 Supplemental plan check fee (revisions, duplicate sets, etc.): $0.10 per sq. ft. ($50 min.) 

Note: Fee for revisions to be calculated based on space revised. 

 Third party oversight plan check fee:   $0.15 per sq. ft. ($100 min.) 

 Inspection fees: 

 Plant certification inspection fee:   $350.00 per inspection 

 Oversight inspection fee:    $270.00 per inspection per address 

Multi-Box additional fee: Units with more than 3 boxes add $25.00/box, up to an 

additional $1875.00.  

 Special inspection fee: 

In-State: $50.00 per hour, per inspector plus trip expenses of travel, food, lodging, 

parking, car rental, etc. as allowed in state fiscal rules for per diem and travel. 

Out-of-State units manufactured in Colorado: $350.00 per inspection per unit 

 Non Compliance/Prohibited Sale/Red Tag fee: $250.00 

 

Resolution #36 “On-site Construction and Safety Codes for Motels, Hotels and Multi-family Dwellings 

in those areas of the State where no such Standards Exist” – Schedule “A” 

 

 Plan checking fees (maximum 3-sets):  Finished space $0.25 per sq. ft. ($160 min.) 

Unfinished space $0.10 per sq. ft.  

 Supplemental plan check fee (revisions, duplicate sets, etc.): $0.10 per sq. ft. ($50 min.) 

Note: Fee for revisions to be calculated based on space revised. 

 Certificate of Occupancy (each separate structure):  $125.00 

 Inspection fees: 

 On-site inspection fee: $270.00 per inspection per inspectr plus $50.00 per hour 

(inspection time) per inspector plus trip expenses of travel, food, lodging, parking, car 

rental, etc. as allowed in state fiscal rules for per diem and travel. 

 Stop Work Order/Red Tag fee:   $250.00 

 

Resolution #38 “Manufactured Housing Installations – Schedule “A” 

 

 Independent Inspector Registration (3-years):  $150.00 

 Insignia Fees:      $60.00 
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 Red Tag Fee:      $250.00 

 Inspection Fees: 

 Rough or Final Installation Inspection Fees:  $200.00 

 Reinspection Fee or Red Tag Removal:  $200.00 

 

Resolution #10 “Manufactured Home Construction Standards and Procedural Regulations”  

 

 Product Inspection service fee schedule: 

 

Activity      Fee 

 Plant Certification/Revalidation Inspection $260/day/person plus actual expense of 

travel, per diem, and lodging 

 Routine Floor Inspection    $35 per floor 

 Reinspection for Red Tag Removal   $100 per deviation 

 Increased Frequency (200%) or Revalidation   $50 per non-compliance and $50  

Inspections    per system of control  

 Plant Certification/Revalidation   $260 per day per person plus  

actual travel, per diem, and 

lodging 

 

Thank you for your time and consideration.  

 

 


