
REGULATORY ANALYSIS  
FOR  

COLORADO MINIMUM WAGE ORDER NUMBER 26 
7 CCR 1103-1 

 
1. Description of classes of persons who will be affected by the rules, including classes 

that will bear the costs of the rules and classes that will benefit from the rules. 
 

Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 26 covers certain employers and employees in 
the following industries: retail and service, commercial support service, food and 
beverage, and health and medical. The coverage of Colorado Minimum Wage Order 
Number 26 is identical to the coverage of Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 25. 
The Colorado State minimum wage also applies to those who receive federal minimum 
wage.    

 
2. Description of the probable quantitative and qualitative impact of the adopted rules, 

economic or otherwise, upon the classes of affected persons. 
 

Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 26 decreases minimum wage rates pursuant to 
the provisions of Section 15 of Article XVIII of the Colorado Constitution. The state 
minimum wage decreases from $7.28 per hour to $7.24 per hour, and the state minimum 
wage for tipped employees decreases from $4.26 per hour to $4.22 per hour.      

 
3. Probable costs to the agency and other agencies of the implementation and 

enforcement of the adopted rules and any anticipated effect on state revenues. 
 

No impact on costs or revenues is anticipated as a result of the rule changes.   
 
4. Comparison of the probable costs and benefits of the adopted rules to the probable 

costs and benefits of inaction.  
 

The Director finds that adoption of the rule is imperatively necessary to comply with state 
law. 

 
5. Determination of whether there are less costly or less intrusive methods for 

achieving the purpose of the rules. 
 

There are no known less costly or less intrusive means.    
 
6. Description of any alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed 

rules that were seriously considered by the agency and the reasons they were 
rejected in favor of the adopted rules. 

 
Due to the requirements of Section 15 of Article XVIII of the Colorado Constitution, no 
alternative methods were seriously considered.  
 


