REDLINE

DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES DIVISION OF REAL ESTATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 4 CCR 725-1

NOTICE OF PROPOSED PERMANENT RULEMAKING HEARING June 5, 2018

RULE B. CONTINUING EDUCATION

Pursuant to and in compliance with Title 12, Article 61 and Title 24, Article 4, C.R.S. as amended, notice of proposed rulemaking is hereby given, including notice to the Attorney General of the State of Colorado and to all persons who have requested to be advised of the intention of the Colorado Real Estate Commission (the "Commission") to promulgate rules, or to amend, repeal or repeal and re-enact the present rules of the Commission.

STATEMENT OF BASIS

The statutory basis for the rules titled <u>Rules of the Colorado Real Estate Commission</u> is Part 1 of Title 12, Article 61, Colorado Revised Statutes, as amended.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

The purpose of this rule is to effectuate the legislative directive to promulgate necessary and appropriate rules in conformity with the state statutes of the real estate practice act.

SPECIFIC PURPOSE OF THIS RULEMAKING

The specific purpose of this rule is to amend or repeal existing rules with respect to continuing education requirements to implement calendar year license cycles as mandated by HB18-1227.

PROPOSED NEW, AMENDED AND REPEALED RULES

[Deleted material is shown struck through; new material is shown in red.] Rules, or portions of rules, which are unaffected are reproduced. Readers are advised to obtain a copy of the complete rules of the Commission at www.dora.colorado.gov/dre.

Proposed New, Amended and Repealed Rules

Rule B. Continuing Education

B-2. Methods of completing continuing education.

Licensees may satisfy the entire continuing education requirement for a license cycle through one of the following options:

(a) Complete the twelve hours required by section 12-61-110.5(1)(c), C.R.S., and required by this rule in annual 4-hour increments developed by the Commission, otherwise referred to as the "Annual Commission Update Course." Licensees who choose this option must complete an additional 12 hours of elective credit hours to meet the 24-hour total continuing education requirement during the license cycle in subject areas listed in section 12-61-110.5(3), C.R.S. Please note that a licensee may not take the same version of the Annual Commission Update Course more than once. If a licensee takes more than 12 hours of the

REDLINE

Annual Commission Update course during a license cycle, the licensee will receive elective credit hours for any additional hours.

- (a.1) To accommodate licensees during the transition period, licensees may complete the 4-hour "Transition Course" along with two different versions of the Annual Commission Update Course to satisfy the twelveeight (8) hours of mandated education pursuant to section 12-61-110.5(1)(ed), C.R.S. Licensees who choose this option must complete an additional 4216 hours of elective credit hours to meet the 24-hour total continuing education requirement during the transition period in subject areas listed in section 12-61-110.5(3), C.R.S. A licensee may take the Transition Course at any time during the transition period including in the same year they complete one of the two Annual Commission Update Courses.
- (b) Complete the Commission approved 24-hour "Broker Reactivation Course." This option is available to licensees under one of the following conditions:
 - (1) Licensee is currently active and did not use the Broker Reactivation Course to satisfy the Rule B-2(a) or (a.1) requirements in the previous license cycle.
 - (2) Licensee is (A) inactive and/or expired for up to thirty-six months prior to activating an inactive license or reinstating an expired license to active status and (B) unable to comply with the education requirements listed in Rule B-2(a) or (a.1).
- (c) Pass the Colorado state portion of the licensing exam.
- (d) Complete 72 total hours of pre-licensure education concerning the understanding and preparation of Colorado real estate contracts (48 hours) and real estate closings (24 hours). The courses and course providers are required to comply with the requirements as described at section 12-61-103(4)(a), C.R.S. Any inactive or expired licensee who cannot meet the education requirements listed in section (a), (a.1), (b), or (c), must comply with the education requirements found in section (d) of this rule before activation or reinstatement of the license.

A hearing on the above subject matter will be held on Tuesday, June 5, 2018, at the Colorado Division of Real Estate, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1250C, Denver, Colorado 80202 beginning at 9:00 a.m.

Any interested person may participate in the rule-making through submission of written data, views and arguments to the Division of Real Estate. Persons are requested to submit data, views and arguments to the Division of Real Estate in writing no less than ten (10) days prior to the hearing date and time set forth above. However, all data, views and arguments submitted prior to or at the rulemaking hearing or prior to the closure of the rulemaking record (if different from the date and time of hearing), shall be considered. Please be advised that the rule being considered is subject to further changes and modifications after public comment and formal hearing.