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Section 5-16-114, C.R.S., provides that compliance with the Colorado Fair Debt
Collection Practices Act (“CFDCPA”) shall be enforced by the Administrator and
provides that the Administrator “may makes reasonable rules for the administration
and enforcement of [the CFDCPA], including standards of conduct for licensees and
collection notices and forms.” The specific statutory authority for these rules is
section 5-16-114, C.R.S.

The Administrator’s existing rules under the CFDCPA have not been
substantively amended since 2010. The Administrator is updating the header and
title of the rules under the CFDPCA because the provision establishing the Collection
Agency Board, 5-16-116, C.R.S. was repealed in 2017.

The Administrator is updating her rules to change timing requirements from
being counted by “business days”, which do not include Sundays or legal holidays, to
simply days, which do include Sundays and legal holidays, and from 5 business days
(or multiples thereof) to 7 days (or multiples thereof), which will clarify the rules and
provide consistency with other state and federal statutes. A commenter in the
rulemaking hearing suggested that two additional rules than those in the proposed
rule, Rule and 1.02(2) and 1.04(2), had day ranges could also be updated to be divisible
by 7 and the Administrator has accepted this suggestion. The Administrator is also
eliminating communications by facsimile from her rules as the Administrator
believes fax is no longer a common form of communication for consumers, licensees,
and the Administrator.

The Administrator is amending Rule 1.02(2) to shorten the number of days an
applicant has to complete an application after notice from the Administrator that the
application is incomplete from 90 days to 60 days. In the Administrator’s experience,
90 days is too long for an application to remain open and this length of time creates
confusion. Sixty days is also consistent with an analogous provision in the Colorado
Student Loan Servicer Act, § 5-20-106(8). Consistent with a suggestion described
above, the Administrator is finalizing the day range in Rule 1.02(2) as 63 days to be
divisible by 7. The Administrator is amending Rule 1.04 to provide that in addition
to providing letters of admonition by first-class certified mail, letters of admonition
may be emailed to the general mailings contact provided in the licensee’s most recent
renewal application. This change is to reflect that email is a common and convenient
way for the Administrator to communicate with licensees and to issue letters of
admonition.



The Administrator is removing a reference to the Collection Agency Board in
Rule 1.05(1) because, as noted above, the section establishing the Collection Agency
Board has been repealed. The Administrator is eliminating a requirement from Rule
1.05(4), which prohibited a licensee from purchasing the right to collect client
accounts from another licensee but permitted the licensees to purchase the right to
solicit their reassignment from the client. The Administrator believes this
requirement was a source of confusion for licensees and is no longer necessary for the
administration and enforcement of the CFDCPA.

The Administrator is clarifying Rule 2.03(2), which provides that no licensee
shall advise, suggest, or request a client add collection costs to any existing debt
unless such costs are specifically authorized by statute. The Administrator is
clarifying that a licensee would not be prohibited from advising, suggesting, or
requesting a client add collection costs to any existing debt if the collection costs are
specifically authorized by the contract, agreement, note, or other instruments
creating the debt and that are not otherwise prohibited by law. The Administrator
believes this additional language clarifies the requirement and makes Rule 2.03(2)
consistent with other requirements contained in Rule 2.03.

The Administrator is increasing the maximum permitted fee for additional
account statements in Rule 2.06(1) from $5 to $10 based on comments received from
representatives of collection agencies that the cost of providing the statements has
increased.

The Administrator is amending Rule 2.07 to clarify that where both summaries
and records are kept both must be accurate. She is also requiring collection agencies
that record calls to retain call recordings for two years in an accessible format upon
request by the Administrator. Data from the 2020 renewals indicates that the
majority of licensees retain call records and of those that retain calls, a majority of
them already retain the call records for more than 2 years. The Administrator
believes this requirement will facilitate administration and enforcement of the
CFDCPA.

The Administrator is amending Rule 2.09 to clarify that the required written
authorization may be provided in electronic form so long as the licensee maintains a
contemporaneous record of the authorization from the creditor. The Administrator
received feedback from a representative of a collection agency that clarification of this
requirement would alleviate confusion.

The Administrator received no written comments to her proposed rule. She
did receive comments at her rulemaking hearing. One commenter reiterated
comments made at a prior stakeholder meeting. The commenter had raised concerns
about possible amendments to Rule 2.04. The Administrator is not modifying Rule
2.04 in this rulemaking. The commenter also raised additional topics for rulemaking.



As noted in the Notice of Rulemaking Hearing, the Administrator sought comment
on medical debt disclosures in the December stakeholder meeting, but did not include
those disclosures in the proposed rule. She intends to seek additional comment and
continue to consider those disclosures in the future.



