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Rule Opinion Correction 2018-00026 (correction to 2017-00476) 

Dear Sir or Madam: 

On November 16, 2017, the Colorado Parks and Wildlife Commission amended 2 
CCR 405-7; Chapter P-7 (Passes, Permits and Registrations). Pursuant to§ 24-4-
103(11)(d)(II), C.R.S., the amended regulation, together with the Attorney General's 
opinion, was submitted to the Secretary of State within 20 days of promulgation 
under tracking number 2017-00476. Typographical errors haVE3 since been 
discovered. 

Pursuant to the rule making provisions of the Colorado Administrative Procedures 
Act, typographical and other nonsubstantive errors may be corrected upon 
submission of a request by the agency. C.R.S. § 24-4-103(11)(d)(Il). 

The following errors are corrected under Rule Opinion Correction 2018-00026: 
• The rule submitted as rule 717 has been renumbered as rule 720 
• The rule submitted as rule 718 has been renumbered as rule 721 

The corrected pages are attached to this filing. In accordance with C.R.S. § 24-4-
103(11)(d)(II), I have reviewed these errors and have determined that they are 
nonsubstantive. 

CYNTHIA H. COFFMAN 
Attorf ey General 

~~~&~ 
JAKE MATTER 
Senior Assistant Attorney General 
Parks, Wildlife, and Trust Lands Unit 
Natural Resources and Environment Section 
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AS APPROVED – 11/16/2017 

FINAL REGULATIONS - CHAPTER P-7 - PASSES, PERMITS AND REGISTRATIONS 

# 708 - PASS AND PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE 

8. The fees associated with the reservation system for phone or internet sales are as follows:  

a. Campsite, cabin and yurt reservation fee…………………$10.00/campsite, cabin or yurt 

b. Each reservation change or cancellation………………….$6.00/each 

(1) For cancellations made fourteen days or more prior to the beginning date of the 
reservation, the campsite reservation fee will be retained and the cancellation fee 
will be charged. 

(2) For cancellations made less than fourteen days prior to the beginning date of the 
reservation, the campsite reservation fee will be retained and the first night's 
camping fee will be charged. 

c. On-park facility reservation fee…………………..………...$10.00/facility 

(1) For group camping areas, group picnic areas, and event facilities, the 
cancellation fees shall be as described in regulations # 704, # 706, and # 708, 
respectively. 

#720 – AGENT COMMISSION RATES 
 
See also §33-4-101 C.R.S. relative to CPW agents and §33-4-102(1.6)(b) C.R.S. for price indexing 
information for nonresident big game licenses. 

 
A. Commission Rates for Retail Agents:  

1. Retail agents shall be paid a 4.75% commission for each license sold electronically, 
except for those licenses with fixed commissions as shown below. 

2. Retail agents shall be paid a 5% commission for each pass sold electronically.  
3. Agents who sell registrations shall be paid a flat rate of $1.00 per registration issued.  
4. Fixed Commissions: 

 

Division Product Type 

2017 
Fee 

2017 
Commission 

2018 
Fee 

2018 
Commission 

Second Rod Stamp $5.00 
 

$.31 
$5.00 

 
$.31 

Fishing - 1 day $8.00 
 

$.62 
$8.00 

 
$.62 

Fishing - 5 day 
 

$20.00 
 

$1.23 
 

$20.00 
 

$1.23 

Small Game - 1 day 
 

$10.00 
 

$.62 
 

$10.00 
 

$.62 

Nonresident Deer 
 

$385.00 
 

 

$13.50 
 

$395.00  
 

$13.90 
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Nonresident Pronghorn 
 

$385.00 
 

 

$13.50 

 
$395.00 

 

 

13.90 
 

Nonresident Bear 
 

$350.00 
 

$12.95 
 

$350.00 
 

$12.95 

Nonresident Mountain Lion 
 

$350.00 
 

$12.95 
 

$350.00 
 

$12.95 

Nonresident Antlerless Elk 
 

$480.00 
 

 

$13.50 

 

$495.00 
 

 

$17.55  

Nonresident Either-sex Elk 
 

$640.00 
 

 

$22.70 

 

$660.00 
 

 

$23.40 
 

Nonresident Antlered Elk 
 

$640.00 
 

 

$22.70 

 

$660.00 
 

 

$23.40 
 

Nonresident Rocky Mtn 
Bighorn Sheep $2,145.00 

 

$74.95 

 

$2,210.00 
 

 

$77.25 
 

Nonresident Desert Bighorn 
Sheep $1,430.00 

 

$50.05 

 

$1,470.00 
 

 

$51.60 
 

Nonresident Goat 
 

$2,145.00 
 

$74.95 

 

$2,210.00 
 

 

$77.25 
 

Nonresident Moose 
 

$2,145.00 
 

$74.95 

 

$2,210.00 
 

 

$77.25 
 

All 2017 licenses sold through March 2018 shall be sold at the 2017 license 
fee and commission rates. 
 

B. Commission Rates for the System Agent: The system agent shall be paid the commissions 
shown in the table below for each license sold through the system: 
1. Fixed Commissions: 

 
Division Product Sale Type 

Commission 

07/01/2008 - 
06/30/2010 

07/01/2010 - 
06/30/2011 

07/01/2011 - 
06/30/2012 

07/01/2012 - 
12/31/2016* 

Division  products sold through point of 
sale terminals 

 

$1.29 
 

$1.32 
 

$1.34 
 

$1.35 

Division products sold through the 
Internet 

$2.00 $2.00 $2.00 $2.00 

Division products sold by telephone $2.37 $2.37 $2.37 $2.37 

Limited Licenses fulfillment $1.00 $1.00 $1.00 $1.00 

*The Commission rates for 2018 will remain as listed until the new IPAWS system has been 
implemented. 

 
a. For Internet and telephone sales, the system agent shall receive an additional 

2.2 percent of the cost of any wildlife product. 
 

# 721 – REGISTRATIONS-ONLY AGENTS 
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1. Registration-only agents: except for agents exempted from surety requirements in 
accordance with C.R.S. 33-12-104(9) when cash sales are made to financially secured 
agents they shall be subject to the following conditions: 
 

a. Purchase of accountable inventory registrations shall be made at the designated 
Division office or by submitting funds by mail to the designated address. Funds 
submitted for purchase must be in the exact amount of the Division’s share for the 
number of registrations; 
 

b. All mail orders shall be placed on forms supplied by the Division. 
 

c. Redemption of unsold registrations may be made at the designated Division office 
or by submitting unsold registrations to the Division by mail. 

 
d. The termination procedures of registration agents who purchase registrations for 

cash shall include having the agent turn over to the Division or its representative 
all unsold registrations. 
 

e. Yearly submit final payment and return all unused accountable inventory by no 
later than November 15. Registrations may be carried over from year to year 
unless otherwise notified by the Division, in which case instructions will be given as 
to return/payment deadlines. 
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AS APPROVED – 11/16/2017 
Basis and Purpose 

Chapter P-7 - Passes, Permits and Registrations 
 

 
Basis and Purpose: 
 
H.B. 00-1448, which was passed into law in May 2000, provided for the annual adjustment of nonresident 
big game license fees based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI): "The nonresident big game fees 
described in subsection (1.4) of this section shall annually be adjusted in accordance with changes in the 
United States Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index for the Denver-Boulder-Greeley 
consolidated metropolitan statistical area for all urban consumers, all goods, or its successor index." §33-
4-102 (1.6)(b) C.R.S. Consumer Price Indices for the Denver-Boulder-Greeley metropolitan statistical 
area are compiled by the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics.  H.B. 01-1249 subsequently provided 
authority for the Parks and Wildlife Commission to modify agent commission rates.  While not required by 
statute, the Commission has historically modified agent commission rates according to the CPI-based 
changes made annually in Chapter W-2 to non-resident big game licenses.  Only license prices that are 
adjusted with CPI have adjusted commission rates.  
 
The chart below shows the average CPI for the first half of each year. 
 

Consumer Price Index - All Urban Consumers 

Denver-Boulder-Greeley Metropolitan Area 

First Half 2002   184.600 

First Half 2003   187.800 

Annual Percentage Change   1.7% 

First Half 2004 
 

186.500 

Annual Percentage Change   -0.7% 

First Half 2005 
 

189.200 

Annual Percentage Change   1.4% 

First Half 2006   196.300 

Annual Percentage Change   3.8% 

First Half 2007 
 

201.258 

Annual Percentage Change 
 

2.5% 

First Half 2008   208.741 

Annual Percentage Change   3.7% 

First Half 2009 
 

207.444 

Annual Percentage Change   -0.6% 

First Half 2010 
 

210.978 

Annual Percentage Change   1.7% 

First Half 2011 
 

219.055 

Annual Percentage Change   3.8% 

First Half 2012 
 

222.960 

Annual Percentage Change   1.8% 

First Half 2013 
 

229.142 

Annual Percentage Change   2.8% 

First Half 2014 
 

235.736 

Annual Percentage Change   2.9% 

First Half 2015 
 

238.086 

Annual Percentage Change   1.0% 



5 

 

First Half 2016 
 

245.191 

Annual Percentage Change   3.0% 

First Half 2017 
 

252.760 

Annual Percentage Change   3.1% 

Cumulative Percentage Change (Rounded) 36.9% 

Source: U.S. Dept of Labor/Bureau of Labor Statistics   
 
 
The primary statutory authority for these regulations can be found in § 24-4-103, C.R.S., and the 
state Parks Act, §§ 33-10-101 to 33-33-113, C.R.S., and specifically including, but not limited to: 
§§ 33-10-106 and 33-10-107, C.R.S. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE - THESE REGULATIONS SHALL BECOME EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2018 AND 
SHALL REMAIN IN FULL FORCE AND EFFECT UNTIL REPEALED, AMENDED OR SUPERSEDED. 
 
APPROVED AND ADOPTED BY THE PARKS AND WILDLIFE COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF 
COLORADO THIS 16TH DAY OF NOVEMBER, 2017. 

 
 

APPROVED: 
John V. Howard 

Acting Chairman 
 
ATTEST: 
Michelle Zimmerman 
Secretary 
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